Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Woudn't the icebergs melting equal alot of fresh on polluted water?

Vous Pas Reel
Loyal Member
Reaction score
So I know alot of people worry about the icebergs meting because of flooding and what not ,but wouldn't this also bring a lot more "fresh" drinkable water to the world?

Note this is all just from my assumptions, so let me know where I'm wrong :)

Newbie Spellweaver
Reaction score
I'm pretty sure it just change the level of fresh water to salt water, but I don't believe it would be anymore drinkable than ocean water. Though I'm by no means a scientist.

2D > 3D
Loyal Member
Reaction score
Lol no, you just change the amount of saline in the water. It would still consist of salt, but the solution would change from the average 3.3-3.7% to something much lower, thus causing a host of other problems dealing from ocean ecosystems and the climate in general.

For instance, if the saline levels lower greatly, the albedo (amount of sunlight reflected back off the surface of the earth) would lower, allowing the earth to absorb more radiation. As such water temperatures rise, creating a higher global temperature as well as a much more sporadic atmosphere. Hurricanes have been steadily getting stronger over the past century because of rising water temperatures, and with a lower salt concentration in the oceans, this would continue to rise.

There are very few advantages to global climate change if we look at this from a human perspective.

Vous Pas Reel
Loyal Member
Reaction score