Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Guess who's the idiot?

Pessimistic butt@%&!
Loyal Member
Reaction score
I have been working on PC's now for about 5 years.....ran into a few issues and learned from them and moved on....Now that the background is out of the way...

So I was playing Rust earlier and my computer starting making a weird noise.....couldn't locate the source so ignored and went on. After about 10 minutes entire computer shut down. Start it up and it would shut down immediately....PSU?!?!?!?

WELL....who in the room is the idiot that installed his PSU upside down?

*Monolith raises his hand*

With this new case came a movement in my PSU from the top to the bottom...my first time dealing with this configuration so I installed the PSU as I normally would and moved on.

It would seem that installing the PSU so the fan is pulling fresh air directly from the GPU exhaust will quickly burn out a PSU....DUH!

So upgraded my PSU to a Corsair TX650W...much better than my Coolermax 600W....and a valuable lesson learned for a mere $90.

So for all you future PC builders...don't lose confidence if you do something stupid. It's only money and it happens to the best of us LOL

Reaction score
Uh, pretty sure airflow in PCs is supposed to go from top/front out the back/bottom as less dust to draw in that way. I've spent 10min trying to picture your config and I just can't.

Pessimistic butt@%&!
Loyal Member
Reaction score
New box installs the PSU with intake fan pointing down cause it has a filter underneath it to make sure its clean air....your right in my thinking...I installed it pointing into the case as I usually do...didn't notice the removable filter on bottom...