(STARTER) Web Hosting vs VPS

GammaRank
    Apr 2008 Join Date
    PhilippinesLocation
    4,064Posts

(STARTER) Web Hosting vs VPS

Could somebody please drop me some good knowledge when it comes to learning more about the hosting plans specifically Wordpress sites.

Right now I'm using Dedicated Servers to host my Wordpress site and overall my load time is pretty terrible and I was looking for options to have my site to load faster and I had in mind maybe a Content Delivery Network (CDN) would perfectly be a good option for me to add. To get my site to load quicker especially with the fact that I'm uploading high and larger quality photos that reaches around 2mb.

But I do would also like to know more about VPS, which I was also recommended by my hosting service provider to consider changing my hosting plan by having my own Virtual Private Server. I've never used it before and it seems like my hosting provider also allows me to setup my server https://www.crazydomains.ph/virtual-...ustom-servers/

The problem is that, I wanted to know in such cases like:
    1. If I was transfer my website to a different domain, would the pointing of DNS still be done from the VPS cPanel which my hosting provider has?

2. Does VPS really significantly improve my website's loading time even if it is using high quality photos?

3. Since it is a Virtual Private Server, does that mean I could be hosting two different site at once? And does that affect my other website's performance if I was to run another website in the exact same server?

Please I look forward for your responds.
    Thanks!

True MemberRank
    Apr 2011 Join Date
    471Posts

Re: (STARTER) Web Hosting vs VPS

If I was transfer my website to a different domain, would the pointing of DNS still be done from the VPS cPanel which my hosting provider has?

You just point the DNS to the IP address of your VPS. It will direct to htdocs