Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Am I going about this correctly? [Script]

Reaction score
Well, I am coding a small script, something that I thought would somewhat come in handy for my website, just so I don't have people directly viewing the source of my CSS files, etc.. It's just something for fun I guess, not too big of a deal. And just to improve my PHP skills, slightly (I guess....)

Here is the index.php (the file which does most of the work):

And here is the requested file:

The file being requested, I would replace the ECHO with the file I want to somewhat 'protect' - for example, CSS or Javascript. And of course add the appropriate header for what I'm using, IE: CSS, JS, TEXT

Now, I am not a pro at PHP, I am still learning, per se. I would LOVE all feedback, to help improve my skills, and this little project I'm making. What can be done better? What NEEDS to be done better? Am I going about this right?

I am also a bit confused on how I should LAYOUT my PHP, to make it look simply neat, so if someone wants to show me a demonstration on how it should be properly laid out, that would also be a huge help!

Cheers, Liam. :fanny:

Elite Diviner
Reaction score
1. Nothing will prevent people from viewing your CSS, JavaScript or HTML. You have to send these to anyone who requests them, so I really don't understand why you're trying to do this. I mean, okay, they won't find the .css file on your server, but they will find it when they go to any other page that requires it. Moreover, if you want to protect files in this way, it's much easier to configure your webserver to block direct requests to certain file types rather than doing it from PHP. Just be careful you don't block access to those files outright.