Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Web Crawler

Junior Spellweaver
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm working on a school project whereby I need to extract data from existing websites and put it onto my own offline website(which is my project) and show it off like a compiled list.

I downloaded a Web Crawler coded by someone else somewhere and have trouble implementing it.

First problem starting with the values in which I need to input, next is the implementation.

Sorry guys, I'm not very good at this but I need to get my project done. I can be reached through Skype if you need a copy of the Web Crawler to understand more of the codes. There are quite a few .cs and .csproj files in there which I don't think I understand them as well...

Thanks in advance people...

Code:
<configuration>
  <appSettings>
    <add key="url" value="www.dbs.com.sg"/> <!-- What site do you want to crawl? -->
    <add key="authority" value="23.74.187.241"/> <!-- The authority is the server dns hostname or ip address. -->
    <add key="logTextFileName" value="D:\asd.htm"/> <!-- Point this to some location that exists on your machine -->
  </appSettings>
</configuration>

Reaction score
I'd say you're more looking to scrape these websites rather than a webcrawler.
It's quite easy to do with c# (like, you can do it yourself in a couple of hours).

Put Community First
Loyal Member
Reaction score
So, you're basically needing to rip sites, or am I misunderstanding? If so you could download HTTrack which is a website copier and makes full websites available for offline viewing and grab any data from there.

Junior Spellweaver
Reaction score