Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Which version have the bigger player base?

Junior Spellweaver
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a programmer who worked for some years reversing an old mmorpg called WYD2 and as such this is not a "gimme the candy" kind of topic.

I'm looking toward working with this game possibly creating a server in the near future.

As the last time I've played the game was almost a decade ago I'm completely lost about the news and the current state of the game.

The first question that came up to me as I saw all those seasons was which version of the game have the bigger player base. If I remember well I played in the 97d version.

Also, if I may, could anyone tell me if the client->server communication protocol is well documented in the community somewhere (I mean, packet structures, packet encriptation, data structures, etc)? Are people using crack&patch in the server files or are there stable server emulators?

Thanks in advance for the help. I'll try to help the community where I can if I decide to stay here. If anyone have more knowledge to share and want to chat you can reach me at skype andre.scos@hotmail.com

Newbie Spellweaver
Reaction score
RZ was famous for it's content for many years but slowly the new coders/devs generation did not continued the free releases of files for MU.
The old pro coders retired and made room for the new generation. They continued the works done but organised in teams and started selling their work. So most of the "good" content is not free anymore.
MU is very old and uses "ancient" methods.
If you really wish to do something it will be very hard alone + there are these new servers with 1-2 years of existance that call themselves "long term".