Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

PT programmation[+Ask]

Newbie Spellweaver
Reaction score
Well, im studying computer engineering on my University, and im here to ask a simple question:

Is PT programmed with Assembly or C/C++ ?

Last edited by a moderator:
Over rock and under tree
Reaction score
I think it is C++, with 'LUA script'... But this is just an assumption...

Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Reaction score
You can mix both.
Last known (to me) game written nearly fully in assembler was RollerCoaster Tycoon. And it was rare even in '90.
In '80 NES games where written in assembler because console was terribly slow. Nobody was using C on NES.

I would say, write everything in C/C++ and optimize it in assembly.

Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Reaction score
The game is written in C++, but far more of the code could compile on a C compiler than most C++ programs today. (ie. it doesn't use as many ++ features as it really should)

Most low level kernel routines, device drivers etc. have some element of Assembler, and since there really wasn't much of an "OS" on 8-bit systems, games included their own kernel and drivers. That's why there was so much machine code in them. Even at 16-bit code, games on the Amiga and Atari ST, as well as copy-protected floppies for the PC (A-10 Tank Killer etc.) would boot from the floppy, bypassing the slow bloat of a general OS and using a custom kernel with highly optimised machine code routines which directly interface between the game code and the hardware.

If you have a decent OS, and a powerful computer, you don't need to use machine code. (Assembler)