Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Idea: Separate the GunZ lobby into a new client

Skilled Illusionist
Reaction score
GunZ's combat interface leaves very little to complain about, but the lobby interface, while perfectly functional, is very dated. This idea popped into my head pretty recently: Make the GunZ client like that of League of Legends. Modify Gunz.exe to only be used for gameplay and develop an entirely new lobby client.
Note: I'm a programmer both by hobby and trade, but I don't know the GunZ codebase well enough to back up the idea that this is feasible. I'm just pretty sure it is and want to toss the idea out there for more capable brains to chew on.

One major advantage of this approach is that the lobby client can be written in something much more straightforward and maintainable than C++. Performance is a non-issue here! My dream client would be in C#/WPF :) Anyway, another cool thing would be that different servers could use different lobby clients; the only thing they really need to have in common is the ability to launch the game, which would presumably be standard procedure. Hell, you could probably fit the core functionality into a console app.

Thoughts?

Praise the Sun!
Loyal Member
Reaction score