Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member treebeard is offline
    MemberRank
    Jun 2018 Join Date
    North AmericaLocation
    32Posts

    Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

    I have been working on a small project in my free time and have just recently finished the 'handshake' protocol for Shockwave era Habbo.

    Now, I am trying to test logging-in via a v19 DCR but I'm unsure as to how to get the client and the server to communicate with each other. Upon trying to login via the client it just says connecting and never establishes a connection with my server. I have no checks on Player credentials atm so it should just log you in regardless of what username/password you use.






    INB4 does your server even work. Yes, I have tested it with a client that I made and all functionality seems to be working as expected.

    Server details: Written in Java 8 and powered by Netty. TCP game server is finished(minus handling idle connections). & I have only done the packets for handshake.

    Environment details: I am using Xampp on Windows 10 + Palemoon Browser; all on my localhost.

    DCR Pack: https://mega.nz/#F!T242hArZ!5pC8SxMtz6PzNZMwNGx2DA

    This may be a rather n00bish question but hey, I'm trying here.

    Thanks for your time.


  2. #2
    Oldskool Resurrector Navine is offline
      V.I.P  Rank
    Oct 2012 Join Date
    The NetherlandsLocation
    2,331Posts

    Re: Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

    Make sure your ports are correctly in the client and server. Make sure once you establish a connection (which I don't know if you log it or not?) you send @@ with char 0 to the client before you can receive any packets.
    Developer of Aurora (huge oldskool & Habbo BETA project):
    http://forum.ragezone.com/f331/v9-r3...netty-1132388/

    - C# developer
    - Webdeveloper

    Contact me @ discord: navv13#8055

  3. #3
    Registered AwesomeUser24 is offline
    MemberRank
    Aug 2018 Join Date
    The NetherlandsLocation
    6Posts

    Re: Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

    You are visiting your DCR directly. Don't you have to setup an html file containing your external texts, variables, host and the right port?

  4. #4
    Member treebeard is offline
    MemberRank
    Jun 2018 Join Date
    North AmericaLocation
    32Posts

    Re: Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

    Quote Originally Posted by Navine View Post
    Make sure your ports are correctly in the client and server. Make sure once you establish a connection (which I don't know if you log it or not?) you send @@ with char 0 to the client before you can receive any packets.
    There is no connection being established; I'm certain it's the client.

    After class when I took another look I noticed that the file where I set the port did not even belong in the DCR pack and appeared to be some leftover file from a CMS? So I guess the answer lies in actually setting the port for the client.

    Would I need to make some sort of .php file that serves the client to the end-user as well as sets port etc?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by AwesomeUser24 View Post
    You are visiting your DCR directly. Don't you have to setup an html file containing your external texts, variables, host and the right port?
    Yes, the file I had the port set for the client was incorrect; it did not belong in the DCR pack at all.
    The only file remaining that could be a candidate is external_variables.txt which has no spot for port or anything networking related. I'm assuming I need to come up with my own solution, but help would still be appreciated as I am unsure of what I would need to do.

    After looking at an old cms it seems I would need to come up with a .php file but I have 0 experience in that realm and I can't jank the one I'm looking at because it references a bunch of other files for the variables.

  5. #5
    Member treebeard is offline
    MemberRank
    Jun 2018 Join Date
    North AmericaLocation
    32Posts

    Re: Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

    Still can't seem to establish a connection between the client & server. I have my ports set appropriately, server is running, launcher works.

    I'm using this as a launcher: https://pastebin.com/BehpXbT7

    Now getting this error:


  6. #6
    PM for free snacks! Hoshiko is online now
    True MemberRank
    May 2013 Join Date
    238Posts

    Re: Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

    Remove the http:// in connection.info.host

  7. #7
    Member treebeard is offline
    MemberRank
    Jun 2018 Join Date
    North AmericaLocation
    32Posts

    Re: Trouble Getting Server & Client To Communicate [Shockwave]

    I actually solved the issue that day. Getting the original external_variables + new launcher solved the issue. Thanks though!!



Advertisement