Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

{IIS} Protect Against DoS (Slow Loris) Attacks

Newbie Spellweaver
Reaction score
Hellos RZ,

First things first, I am not an expert at these things and this is not a "this will 100% guarantee to block all DoS attacks" this is just a few things I use to protect my IIS install from them. There are probably much better ways of doing this, and I probably have things that are messed up.. if you know of a better way than please let me know.

This tutorial also presumes you already have IIS installed and configured for your retro.

First thing you want to do is go into your IIS manager, go to your site, and go into Request Filtering.

Hit "Edit Feature Settings" on the right hand side, see screenshot below for my settings.

69Jf1HW - {IIS} Protect Against DoS (Slow Loris) Attacks - RaGEZONE Forums

Click ok then go to the headers tab in request filtering, and add a new header with these entries

nwun2H - {IIS} Protect Against DoS (Slow Loris) Attacks - RaGEZONE Forums

Then, go back to your website settings and right click and select "advanced settings" shown below. Then expand the limits tab and set connection timeout to 30. Once done click ok.

ZGn3k6C - {IIS} Protect Against DoS (Slow Loris) Attacks - RaGEZONE Forums

Next go up to "Application Pools" and right click the one that shares the name with the website name you have setup. For me, this is default, and select advanced settings. Scroll down until you see "generate process model...." and set "Idle Time-Out (Minutes)" to "1" and "maximum Worker Processes" to 0 as shown

Ofykj44 - {IIS} Protect Against DoS (Slow Loris) Attacks - RaGEZONE Forums

That should be it! hopefully I havn't missed anything!

Attachments