Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Apple any good for game dev?

Skilled Illusionist
Reaction score
Hello people!

Next school year i will start studying Game Engineering. I've asked some people if a 2017 MacBook Pro 13,3" with a i5 processor wil do the trick.

This one;

It may be in Dutch but the specs speak for itself.

Or will a 2015 model be better? (Apple official clearance). With an i7 processor.

This one;

Or should i skip all that and go for a windows PC? If so, any advice would be welcome.

Now mind you, i'm a starting student so IMO best of the best wont be needed.

Much love,

Joël.

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
My first experience with a Mac was when I started working for the company I am currently at. I was always a windows boy and never really thought Mac's where worth the money. My opinion hasn't really changed since then and I still think Macs are expensive.

My work mac is a 13in with and i5 and 16 gigs of RAM. I ended up buying one for myself because I liked the system and I could afford it. I got the 15in with an i7 and 16 gigs of RAM. My Mac at home obviously runs better because of the i7 but that is to be expected. I'm not sure if you have ever used a Mac or not but I find that the memory managment is kinda poor. When I close all of my active apps on my work Mac I have like 10 gigs of RAM left. So 6 gigs just gone and I as the user am not using it. I still think the OS is good.