Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

[Meta] The organization of the forum

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Hi I'm a noob,

This forum is a wealth of information on maplestory but it's rather intimidating to a nooby like me who has next to no experience with this stuff. Looking at all the threads in this forum is rather overwhelming.

I understand that most of the people on this forum probably played and developed for maplestory since it came out and that's great. You had the opportunity to watch the new developments happen. But i don't have that luxury or experience; I would like to start developing for maplestory and creating new and wonderful things. The issue that is holding me back is really a lack of direction; there are so many great guides and threads on random topics that it's hard to get a real sense of were to actually begin. Most of the thread assume some sort of prior knowledge

So I guess what I'm really asking is if there's some sort of guide-of-guides or a table of contents for the whole forum so a noob like me can get started :laugh:

Reactions: NTV
Junior Spellweaver
Reaction score
There's a lot of information, but most of it is familiarity with the source you're working with. The amount of knowledge you need to do well here is very little. Gaining familiarity is just practice. Some packet guides have been written for IDA, updating which require some searching. Those are the ones worth looking at for this section though. There's a basic NPC guide and Java guide also stickied in tutorials.

You only need to know these to add your own custom features which would make you "pro" in this section in 2008-2009:
- Basic data structures (lists, arrays, maps, sets)