Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Why we use Javascript for scripting instead of Java

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
I kinda curious since all the scripting like PQ and NPC are write in Javascript instead of Java is there any reason behind this ? Eg: A PQ need PQ script, NPC script, Portal script. Why can't we just write all in a single Java file ?

sorry im new to this kind of stuff, never touched in a single project

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
There are a fair few reasons to why to use script languages over compiled languages for some mechanics in the system. At first, one should think about: what is going to be implemented, is it "core mechanics" or "superficial mechanics"?

Core mechanics are considered the substantial code elements that should rarely make a change or update on the internal structure, so it should be assumed to be "final" when first implemented. Naturally, things may not go right at first, that code was planned to do something at first but something else popped up mid-development and changes are to take place, but this doesn't come in case here. E. g. are the individual concept elements in MapleStory: World, Channel, Character, etc.

And then, as you may have guessed, the "superficial mechanics", that should be some sporadic feature that may change anytime. Events are based on this concept. Also belonging here, codes that serve a very specific purpose, and make no sense to be in a "core level". Readily: NPCs, reactors and such.

Hope that answered your question. :):

EDIT: