Windows 2012/2016?

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Rada Rada. Delius is offline
    True MemberRank
    Jul 2012 Join Date
    AustraliaLocation
    402Posts

    Windows 2012/2016?

    Hi all,

    Been a while and I'm just wondering if the Windows 2008 limitation is still in place? Or has windows fixed the ODBC connectors / is there a workaround?

    Helping someone setup a server. Been out of the loop for quite a few years :)

    Cheers


  2. #2
    Registered celialima is offline
    MemberRank
    Aug 2016 Join Date
    PortugalLocation
    23Posts

    Re: Windows 2012/2016?

    Quote Originally Posted by Delius View Post
    Hi all,

    Been a while and I'm just wondering if the Windows 2008 limitation is still in place? Or has windows fixed the ODBC connectors / is there a workaround?

    Helping someone setup a server. Been out of the loop for quite a few years :)

    Cheers
    if you would like to set up a server just send me a private message ill help you for free )

  3. #3
    Rada Rada. Delius is offline
    True MemberRank
    Jul 2012 Join Date
    AustraliaLocation
    402Posts

    Re: Windows 2012/2016?

    Thanks for the offer - not quite what I'm after though :P More just looking for an answer for the question above.

    Is it now possible to make a server on Windows 2012/2016? Either by setting it up normally or via a work around? Back in my Pserver days it was not possible due to ODBC Connectors not being fully implemented or something along those lines.

  4. #4
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! xkl is offline
    True MemberRank
    Dec 2011 Join Date
    262Posts

    Re: Windows 2012/2016?

    No I don't think so. I tried a VM with 2016 with no luck awhile back. I even used a setup to skip ODBC (Besides OPTool) and it still wouldn't work.

    - - - Updated - - -

    "DRIVER={SQL Server};SERVER=.\SQLTEST"

  5. #5
    əʇılə ɯɐ ı MrFarbodD is offline
    True MemberRank
    Jun 2009 Join Date
    UKLocation
    955Posts

    Re: Windows 2012/2016?

    Quote Originally Posted by celialima View Post
    if you would like to set up a server just send me a private message ill help you for free )
    Please see rule 1 of the Fiesta Online help section rules. Although it's very nice of you to offer to help over Skype, it would be beneficial for everyone and future users if the issue was resolved here and an answer was posted.

    @OP I think it works, just need to set it up right maybe? I don't know what the issue was exactly.

    Fiesta Online | Developer | Contact me



  6. #6
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! Evildarkang is offline
    True MemberRank
    Sep 2012 Join Date
    Northfield, BirLocation
    276Posts

    Re: Windows 2012/2016?

    Quote Originally Posted by xkl View Post
    No I don't think so. I tried a VM with 2016 with no luck awhile back. I even used a setup to skip ODBC (Besides OPTool) and it still wouldn't work.

    - - - Updated - - -

    "DRIVER={SQL Server};SERVER=.\SQLTEST"
    with the driver part where would you put that in the configs?

  7. #7
    Rada Rada. Delius is offline
    True MemberRank
    Jul 2012 Join Date
    AustraliaLocation
    402Posts

    Re: Windows 2012/2016?

    I had a quick go on Windows 2016 Standard and it was no good - played with the configs a little bit with no luck.

    Not a problem - back to old school 2008 it is. Just having a bit of a play around - nostalgia! Was just curious to see if there has been updates in my absence.

    Cheers



Advertisement