Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

[DISCUSS]things about maps editing (.dat)

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
First of all I'm not a programmer, I'm an artist.
I know how to work with UV maps and 3D models. I obviously learned the basics of C lang back in college, but i can't do much when I face korean codes xD

Reading this forum I found some threads where people were talking about how retarded these game graphics are. So I decided to take a look into these files and... they are definitely terrible.

All I could do was use Res-X editor and get some map textures.

Imma use Stones as an example (it's attached). As you can see, every shadow cast and light was made by hand using some image editor brush. In before someone asks "how can you prove that?" they are not quite accurated.

(Btw this flat texture is simply projected over terrain, that's why it looks stretched when we it's applied to tilts)

So, there's a way to make this game more realistic. You don't need a new game engine (besides it'd be a way better solution), realistic shaders or what ever. One thing we can do right now is make a realistic scene using any decent software and bake everything into one single texture.

But then we have to re-create this atmosphere inside the software.

Taking a look into Res-Map folder we can see that each map has 4 different files:
*.map - 16 pieces of terrain textures
*.sky - both day and night skies
*.cld - clouds
*.dat - Here is where i need some advices

I'm not a genius, but I'm pretty sure this *.dat file contains all the information I need to get a elevation map into a 3D model software and probally much more info like light color and intensity during day and night, etc.