Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Web Registration Limit

Junior Spellweaver
Reaction score
I have little to no knowledge on these things so please forgive me >~<

I wanted to limit the amount of registrations each player can have by their IP by 3. I believe it can be bypassed easily, but it's still better than nothing I guess.

My guess is
Code:
$query=mysql_query("SELECT * FROM accounts WHERE ip='" . mysql_real_escape_string($_POST["ip"]) . "'");
if that even is correct

Then after that place in the registration page
Code:
} else if (mysql_num_rows($query) > 3) {
do whatever.

Registration Page
Code:
<?php
	if(basename($_SERVER["PHP_SELF"]) == "register.php"){
		die("Error 404");
	}
?>
	<?php
        if (isset($_POST['register'])) {
            $username = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['username']);
            $password = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['password']);
            $cpassword = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['cpassword']);
            $email = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['email']);
            $birth = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['birth']);
            $ip = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['ip']) ;

$ucheck = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `accounts` WHERE `name`='" . $username . "'") or die(mysql_error());
            if ($username == "") {
                echo "<div class=\"error\">Please enter in a username.</div>";
            } else if (mysql_num_rows($ip)  > 3) { 
                echo "<div class=\"error">Registration limit reached. Please contact an administrator to increase the limit.</div>";
            } elseif (mysql_num_rows($ucheck) >= 1) {
                echo "<div class=\"error\">Username is already being used.</div>";
            } elseif ($password == "") {