Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register

Page 1 of 47 12345678911 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 691
  1. #1
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! Chern0byl's Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    448

    Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    So, since i got some free time, i can write this for everyone out there trying to get the server working without success for now. As you might already know, i've shared files i leaked from Vietnam Silkroad official servers to the community. So, here is what you will need for setting up a Silkroad server based on VSRO server files.

    1. Windows XP/2003 Server/Windows 7/Windows 2008 Server/Windows 2008 Server r2 (one of those)
    2. For handling 1000 players with all regions working, you will need 2 machines (you can run one as virtual)
    3. One of the machines must have at least core i5 processor, and 6 - 8 GB of RAM, second might be slower a bit
    4. Microsoft .NET framework 3.5+
    5. Microsoft SQL Server 2000/2005/2008/2008 r2 (i will use 2k8 in this guide)
    6. Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio (in 2000 it's integrated, for 2005 u need to download it, same as for 2008). SSMS 2005 wont work with mssql server 2008
    7. A bit of knowledge how that stuff works

    You can get MSSQL 2008 express edition from official Microsoft website ([Only registered and activated users can see links. ]) same as SSMS

    Well, since it's RageZone, i think, people got enough brain to set MSSQL server up.

    Anyway, after installing mssql server, get those files i've also released

    Server Files
    {
    Part 1 : [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Part 2 : [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Part 3 : [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Files was released on EPVP originally, and password is "fortheworstcommunityever".
    }

    Database Dumps
    {
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    }

    Changeset vsro obt v247-v249 (u wont need it, unless you are just interested in viewing it)
    {
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    }

    Xtrap update files
    {
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    }

    Billing ASP scripts
    {
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    }

    Custom certification server
    {
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] (from pushedx aka Drew Benton)
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] (config files from LegendaryDev)
    }

    Latest SMC Build
    {
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    }





    So, let's start. Save all that files in a some folder on your hard disk, and extract them.

    After you are done with setting up a mssql server, and restoring databases (i consider, database names will be SRO_VT_ACCOUNT, SRO_VT_SHARD, SRO_VT_SHARDLOG), you have to
    create 3 ODBC sources (you can name then however you want, but i preffer to call them the same way as databases). Specify "SQL Server" as ODBC driver. Default language must be
    English for all databases.
    Also, you have to set ODBC default database names this way :

    SRO_VT_ACCOUNT -> SRO_VT_ACCOUNT
    SRO_VT_SHARD -> SRO_VT_SHARD
    SRO_VT_SHARDLOG -> SRO_VT_SHARDLOG

    It's pretty simple and understandable, because i use the same database names as ODBC.

    Don't forget to edit _ShardService table, and change Shard ID to 64 in SRO_VT_ACCOUNT database.

    After you are done with ODBC, you must configure your custom certification server to work with your database server. Just run 1 - Decompile file in it's folder,
    it will decompile current packt.dat file, and save .ini files at "ini" folder. Open it, and you will see few files, which you have to replace with those
    which you downloaded in another archive (from LegendaryDev). After you are done, open your "srGlobalService.ini", and configure it to work with your database
    server. Don't forget, by default, mssql 2005 and 2008 does not bind on port 1433, they uses ODBC. So, you shouldn't put ",1433" after your server hostname (which
    should look like "PC_NAME\SQLEXPRESS", or just "PC_NAME". Do same for "srShard.ini" file (also, you can edit some shard configuration there, like capacity).
    Do not make server capacity more than 1000 for now (i will tell why a bit later). Then you will have to change the ip addresses for binding certification server. For
    this, open srNoteType.ini, and change "wip" to your WAN ip, and "nip" to your local ip. After you are done with your common certification configs, run "2 - Compile.bat" file in order
    to make a new "packt.dat" file (new one will be named "new_packt.dat"). After you are done with it, start third batch file ("3 - CustomCertificationServer.bat")

    Now, if the certification window starts, and shows a message, that says server successfully bound on port 32000 (or any other, if you modifyed it), you are ready to begin configuring
    server.cfg in your main server files folder. If it doesent, you should be done something wrong (it should be IP in 99% of cases).

    Well, if you suceeded, open your server.cfg file in the main server files folder, and change all "Certification" ip addresses to your one. Take a look at SR_ShardManager and SR_GameServer configuration.
    As you can see, there is a billing url at shard settings, which you will have to set up by installing a IIS server, and creating a website instance on some unused port running. Files you should put on your IIS website
    are in the beginning of post (billing asp scripts). Also, don't forget to enable asp support in your IIS server, otwertise, it will not work (will give IIS core error, and wont work propertly).
    You have to edit DBConnect.asp file with your MSSQL server security information. Don't forget to edit your billing server url in your server.cfg (it should be like "http://silkroad.net:1337/").
    After you are done, you might try to start your server. Here is the sequence in which you should do it (might be different, but this one will work for sure).

    1 - Custom certification server
    2 - GlobalManager
    3 - MachineManager
    4 - DownloadServer
    5 - GatewayServer
    6 - FarmManager
    7 - AgentServer
    8 - SR_ShardManager
    9 - SR_GameServer

    If you got everything running fine, you might try to start the service. For doing it, you have to download SMC (also check the top of this post), create a new server developer account, and log in using SMC.
    For doing it, open your SSMSE, go to SRO_VT_ACCOUNT database, open TB_User table, and a new row with your account infos there (password is encrypted with usual md5 function). For giving account a rights
    to access through SMC, you will have to change it's "sec_primary" to 1, same as "sec_content". Also, for connecting to SMC you will have to add your IP address to official ip ranges list.
    For doing it, you have to edit _PrivilegedIP table in SRO_VT_ACCOUNT database (by default, it uses reverse integer "encryption", but you can modify it to use normal IP ranges. You can do it using this query :

    Code:
    USE [SRO_VT_ACCOUNT]
    GO
    /****** Object:  Table [dbo].[_PrivilegedIP]    Script Date: 09/13/2011 08:35:06 ******/
    SET ANSI_NULLS ON
    GO
    SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
    GO
    drop table _PrivilegedIP
    GO
    CREATE TABLE [dbo].[_PrivilegedIP](
    	[IP1] [tinyint] NOT NULL,
    	[IP2] [tinyint] NOT NULL,
    	[IP3] [tinyint] NOT NULL,
    	[IP4] [tinyint] NOT NULL,
    	[IP5] [tinyint] NOT NULL,
    	[IP6] [tinyint] NOT NULL,
    	[IP7] [tinyint] NOT NULL,
    	[IP8] [tinyint] NOT NULL
    ) ON [PRIMARY]
    GO
    After it's done, just add your ip range like this : if your ip is 127.0.0.1, for example, add each part of it in one column.
    Code:
    	127 0 0 1 127 0 0 5
    This will add 4 ip addresses into allowable ip ranges (127.0.0.1 - 127.0.0.5).

    After you are done, restart your GatewayServer, if it was running while you were doing it.

    Now you will have to edit your client side (server division ip address is stored at Media.pk2), you have to edit it with XVI32, Hex Workshop, or some other hexadecimal editor.
    Well, you can also use a software writen by other people, like "Media Patcher", etc.




    Common problems are
    {
    - Wrong MSSQL server setup
    - Wrong certification server configs
    - Wrong database names
    - Wrong ODBC setup
    - Wrong IIS setup
    - Wrong ip addresses/ports defined in server.cfg
    }

    Some info you should know
    {
    - One agent server supports only 1000 users
    - You can't run 1 gameserver with ALL regions working (_RefRegionBindAssocServer table in SRO_VT_SHARD database; 0 = disabled, 1 = gs1, 2 = gs2, 3 = g3)
    - You can run only 1 gameserver/any another module instance at a single physical/virtual machine
    - I don't have any sources of server modules executables to provide, so, reversing is the way to go for fixing stuff
    - For adding new gameserver/agentserver/any other instance nodes, you have to know some stuff about the way modules are being certificated/linked
    - Certification server reads the first network adapter primary ip address
    - Basic certification architecture : [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    - Tons more
    }

    I will update this guide through time, as much as i can. There is tons of things to tell that you should know, but i'm just too lazy at the moment, so, you will have to wait for updates.

    Another thing, i wouldn't like to see this at epvpz.
    Last edited by Chern0byl; 14-09-11 at 09:48 PM.

  2. # ADS
    HyperFilter
    RaGEZONE Sponsor

    Rank
      Sponsor  
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    9000


     

  3. #2
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! Noah™'s Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    West Athen
    Posts
    556

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Awesome guide thanks alot mate.

  4. #3
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! Chern0byl's Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    448

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Well, it will grow... Since there is tons of things you should know...

  5. #4
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! EcologicalHades's Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    743

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    No idea on the connecting issues eh?
    If I helped you or you enjoyed my post and or thread, +rep or thank me :)



  6. #5
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! Chern0byl's Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    448

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Posted a guide : [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #6
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! EcologicalHades's Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    743

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    lol i know. I'm in it. It's not that.. i did it all fine. It has to do with something else im sure because I'm not the only one with the issue theres like 20 people i know so far with it. damnit! lol eh i'll figure it out eventually.
    If I helped you or you enjoyed my post and or thread, +rep or thank me :)



  8. #7
    Member Vovi's Avatar

    Rank
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Gdynia
    Posts
    94

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    My head exploded with so much information - please stand by.
    I hope someday I would sum this up and put my server on :S.

    PS
    Would it work with hamachi to make "private" server?

  9. #8
    Broblem? Nah001's Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    244

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Chernobyl, can you tell me what cause this error
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    server is running, my local ip with 192.168.xx.xx
    in media pk i patched with 127.0.0.1 port 15779

    im using Legendarydev ini's and cert

    if i make ip 192.168.x.x in media pk,launcher does not start
    Last edited by Nah001; 13-09-11 at 05:23 PM. Reason: its 192 port 15779

  10. #9
    Member s2k's Avatar

    Rank
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    38

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Quote Originally Posted by Nah001 View Post
    Chernobyl, can you tell me what cause this error
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    server is running, my local ip with 198.168.xx.xx
    in media pk i patched with 127.0.0.1 port 15579

    im using Legendarydev ini's and cert

    if i make ip 198.168.x.x in media pk,launcher does not start
    same here. how to fix this.

  11. #10
    Hi

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sarajevo, Bosni
    Posts
    516

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Quote Originally Posted by s2k View Post
    same here. how to fix this.
    It can't start with 198. Its either 10. or 192.

  12. #11
    Supreme Cook MentaL's Avatar

    Rank
    Leader
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cardiff City!
    Posts
    31,633

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Gave you a Delta subscription for several years. Enjoy.

  13. #12
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled!

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    218

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Thanks mate! I will try to help this community as muchs I can too!

  14. #13
    Member s2k's Avatar

    Rank
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    38

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Quote Originally Posted by Orusei View Post
    It can't start with 198. Its either 10. or 192.
    doesn't work with 192. launcher only start with 127.0.0.1

  15. #14
    Supreme Cook MentaL's Avatar

    Rank
    Leader
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cardiff City!
    Posts
    31,633

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    Quote Originally Posted by s2k View Post
    doesn't work with 192. launcher only start with 127.0.0.1
    Could try using windows hostlist to redirect localhost to your network ip.

  16. #15
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! Chern0byl's Avatar

    Rank
    True Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    448

    Re: [Guide] Setting up a server based on VSRO server files

    MentaL, as far as i know, there is a IP in it, so, hosts isn't solution.

    #offtop : sent PM

 

 
Page 1 of 47 12345678911 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HyperFilter
Sponsored by HyperFilter , secured by Incapsula , powered by LiteSpeed.
Mods by DBTech. All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright , Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.