Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Please some tips

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Hi, im planing on open a public pw 1.5.1 private server(as a web developer i have some reasonable knowledge in java/ror/php and linux environment, and already did alot of research about editing and in this matter i think everything is fine), the question is i know there are some things i would probably learn just from experience but im afraid of results from that like server crashing, game database integrity, wrong backups, etc. :mellow:

So i would like to ask if the experienceds in private servers development here could give me some tips about keeping the game database safe/whole, things that could break the server while in production(specially the if malicious ppl could intentionally use it), best practices, etc.

For example im planing on use this as a cronjob every 6~ hours and im not sure if the correct way or if it could damage in any way the game database considering the server will be online:

Code:
TIMESTAMP=`date +%s`
mkdir -p /opt/backups/$TIMESTAMP/databases/
cp -R /home/gamedbd/ /opt/backups/$TIMESTAMP/databases/
cp -R /home/uniquenamed/ /opt/backups/$TIMESTAMP/databases/
mysqldump -u user -p pass --verbose --routines site > /opt/backups/$TIMESTAMP/site.sql
mysqldump -u user -p pass --verbose --routines server > /opt/backups/$TIMESTAMP/server.sql
tar -cjvf /opt/backups/"$TIMESTAMP"_compressed.tar.bz2 /opt/backups/$TIMESTAMP/
rm -rf /opt/backups/$TIMESTAMP/

and maybe this every night(not sure if needed or could cause any harm, but i would keep this for like 2~ days in another drive):

Code:
TIMESTAMP=`date +%s`
tar -cjvf /opt/backups/"$TIMESTAMP"_full_compressed.tar.bz2 /opt/home/