Brute force RE

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered joebine162 is offline
    MemberRank
    Oct 2018 Join Date
    21Posts

    Brute force RE

    Brute force RE
    Just thinking, I know sounds crazy but RE seems like a whole lot of trial and error, wouldn't it be cool for an algorithm to brute force a game using outstanding GPU power, I can only imagine the power of 10x RTX 3090 GPU all working 24/7 for months on getting a client to respond to private server. Thoughs? Critisism? :P


  2. #2
    Libre Software Developer PyroSamurai is offline
    ModeratorRank
    Sep 2012 Join Date
    USALocation
    654Posts

    Re: Brute force RE

    Well while that sounds great in theory, most decent networked programs will have some type of defense against packet flooding. (e.g. a set number of possible connection attempts from a given IP address). You could incorporate your GPU into a decryption guessing program, but someone's probably already written a program to do that so it wouldn't be new.
    Happy Hacking!
    "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not."-Dr. Seuss

    I don't want admiration. I want you to follow my example.
    The best way to bring moderator attention to a post is to use the report button (⚠️).

    Like my releases or want to thank me? -> give me rep. (✶ at bottom left)
    For other displays of affection -> use the like button.
    Moderator of Trickster Online & f168
    RZ Dev


  3. #3
    Registered joebine162 is offline
    MemberRank
    Oct 2018 Join Date
    21Posts

    Re: Brute force RE

    Just feel like with so much new computing power, we still cannot revive 10 years + old, dead mmorpg with offline servers. Its really a shame that so many good games will be lost for ever. Its such a waste, devs rather kill the game then release the server source publicly. Offered 50k to the company for server files of 10 + year old dead game and they don't even bother with chump change.
    Last edited by joebine162; 1 Week Ago at 11:11 PM.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member Flipend0 is offline
    MemberRank
    Dec 2016 Join Date
    160Posts

    Re: Brute force RE

    My head already hurts watching the Icarus thread on MMOExtra.
    It's already growing stronger in this thread.

    Do you even know how emulators work? You need to apply some actual logic in-between the packets from C->S or S->C
    They're not something you can brute force. And if you have actual RE skills, it's not all about Trail and Error. That's the old school way of getting things done.
    Passionate x86 Reverse Engineer for Cute Anime MMO games only.
    The only person in MMOExtra with a brain.
    Current Projects : MabiPro, Awakened Dungeon Fighter,
    Audition Galaxy (WIP), SW (WIP)

  5. #5
    Member Biomanable is offline
    MemberRank
    May 2007 Join Date
    Under the skiesLocation
    33Posts

    Re: Brute force RE

    Quote Originally Posted by Flipend0 View Post
    My head already hurts watching the Icarus thread on MMOExtra.
    It's already growing stronger in this thread.

    Do you even know how emulators work? You need to apply some actual logic in-between the packets from C->S or S->C
    They're not something you can brute force. And if you have actual RE skills, it's not all about Trail and Error. That's the old school way of getting things done.
    Well,in theory its possible to brute force it,but its take too much time. Billion years at least. And its still useless without first RE for timestamps,since almost all mmo use them as keys and won't handle flood shit anyway. Even with complete RE for packet structure,packet data and its handlers its take alot time for find out,which data used for and there is no way to brute force it. Anyway its just useless,since in most cases you can't really check what work and what aren't work,unless its visible,but many data have nothing to do with visible things,so accuracy for this too low for this purpose. Well,at least with this we can see,how many ppl have no idea how things works,so they think 10 3090 can make all work without human interaction. Well,its not gonna happens.



Advertisement