Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Key retrieval and XOR decryption

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Hi, everybody. I am studying the creation of the emulator, at the moment I study packages.
I was able to find out exactly the encryption method-XOR.
Tell me, how can I find the key?
And then how are the bytes decrypted using this key?

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Mind sending the code so we can look at it?

Junior Spellweaver
Reaction score
To retrieve the XOR key, you just have to make a big packet and XOR it with your original data.
Code:
^  = XOR
data ^ key = encrypted_data
encrypted_data ^ key = data 
encrypted_data ^ data = key

So to put it simple, just input a big enough data(use a long string made of a repeating character) to generate a big packet. When you got your packet just look for repeating data. To get the key, you just have to select the block of data that repeats and xor it with your input data.

Example:
Code:
data = aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
encrypted_data = randomdataencryptedencryptedencryptedencryptedencryptedencryptedencryptedencrypted
key = encrypted_data  ^ data = encrypted ^ aaaaa = 040f0213181115
key = 040f0213181115 in hex

This method works well, if the key is small(your input string is bigger then the key), you can also try to brute force the key out of the packet, with validation from your data.

Last edited:
Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Thanks, but in what format to enter data? hex?

For example I have this packet (hex and string).

gB8LKX - Key retrieval and XOR decryption - RaGEZONE Forums

data = 5e ae 83 4f 83 d1 00 ac b3 17 c1 d9 08 00 45 00 ....
or
data = ^®.O.Ñ.¬³.ÁÙ..E.........

Attachments