Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

What is the best and updated guide in setting up EP8 server?

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm VERY new to creating a private server and honestly, I have minimal to no background in game developing, programming or any IT related stuff. I'm more of a front-end guy. This would be my first time doing this. I have been playing CABAL Online PH since 2008 up until now and came across some guides on how to create your own private server and am very interested.

I know its not easy and I know it very well because I've been at it for 2 days already. I just created an account here few hours ago because I'm really having a difficult time making things work. I know that I could've just posted my errors and logs and all my problems but I did not want to go through aimlessly so I thought of the very basic question:

Am I following the right guide?

I am using a Windows 8.1 OS and have this modem+router all in one thingamajing (PLDT myDSL SpeedSurf 504AN) and I'm not even sure if all the programs are compatible with my system.

I have exhausted my common sense and Google-ing powers in fixing all the errors that I encountered; from the MSSQL setup to the Cabal services stopping. I don't even know how to do a port forwarding (Though I'v already searched how but its not working) I've looked all into the .ini files and actually had a hard time understanding some posts because I have no context of the situation. I actually paged through forum posts just to find any possible working answer I could find.

And I'm tired so help me! xD

Anyway, I really don't have plans in setting up a full blown private server.