• Unfortunately, we have experienced significant hard drive damage that requires urgent maintenance and rebuilding. The forum will be a state of read only until we install our new drives and rebuild all the configurations needed. Please follow our Facebook page for updates, we will be back up shortly! (The forum could go offline at any given time due to the nature of the failed drives whilst awaiting the upgrades.) When you see an Incapsula error, you know we are in the process of migration.

[PHP/OOP] Write content to a html file

duck you, I'm a dragon
Loyal Member
Reaction score
So this is my first try at OOP and I think I did a pretty good job, however the only thing I did was read a tutorial so I really don't have clue if I even understood the concept of classes properly, so some suggestions would be nice. Should I use more functions? More classes? Write less terrible regexes? Put on a silly hat and jump out of a window?

What does it do?

The script reads html tags from a source which have as title "pie.something" and then displays the content of those tags in a form. You can even add indicators, :text: means that the content of the tags needs to be displayed in a text area and :nocont: indicates the beginning of editable content and should be wrapped around the tags which have "pie.something" as title, this tag is mandatory.

Then if the content is edited it can be written back to the html file.

Example
The file where content gets written to is located here (Template from freetemplates):

And the actual script in action is located here:

Look at the source and you'll get how the script works.

The script
I tried to keep the commenting to a bare minimum and as I mentioned earlier on please tell me if there's something I can improve on.
PHP:
<?php
//This class generates the form.
class createform {

public $index;

protected function getfile() {

if(($file = @file_get_contents($this->index)) == false) {

die("Failed to open index file.");

}