• Unfortunately, we have experienced significant hard drive damage that requires urgent maintenance and rebuilding. The forum will be a state of read only until we install our new drives and rebuild all the configurations needed. Please follow our Facebook page for updates, we will be back up shortly! (The forum could go offline at any given time due to the nature of the failed drives whilst awaiting the upgrades.) When you see an Incapsula error, you know we are in the process of migration.

[Tut] How to cut client starting time by 25% [Tut]

Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Well, I havn't been too active on RZ lately, and decided to release my latest discovery.

Difficulty: 1/10
Files Modified: Applet_Sub1 (Client sided)
Credits: 110% to me, also I have never seen a client with this modification.

Ok, first, open up Applet_Sub1, and search for
Code:
public void method13(int i, byte byte0, String s)

Then, you should see:
Code:
    public void method13(int i, byte byte0, String s)
    {
        while(aGraphics12 == null) 
        {
            aGraphics12 = method11(0).getGraphics();
            try
            {
                method11(0).repaint();
            }
            catch(Exception _ex) 
			{
			}
            try
            {
                Thread.sleep(1000L);
            }
            catch(Exception _ex) { }
        }
        Font font = new Font("Times New Roman", 1, 13);
        FontMetrics fontmetrics = method11(0).getFontMetrics(font);
        Font font1 = new Font("Times New Roman", 0, 13);
        method11(0).getFontMetrics(font1);
        if(aBoolean16)
        {
			Color color = new Color(140, 17, 17);
			int j = anInt11 / 2 - 18;
			aGraphics12.setColor(color);
            aGraphics12.setColor(color.black);//startup st00f
            aGraphics12.fillRect(0, 0, anInt10, anInt11);
            aBoolean16 = false;
        }
        Color color = new Color(140, 17, 17);
        int j = anInt11 / 2 - 18;
        aGraphics12.setColor(color);
        aGraphics12.drawRect(anInt10 / 2 - 152, j, 304, 34);
        aGraphics12.fillRect(anInt10 / 2 - 150, j + 2, i * 3, 30);
        aGraphics12.setColor(color.black);//startup st00f
        if(byte0 != 4)
        {
            return;
        } else
        {
            aGraphics12.fillRect((anInt10 / 2 - 150) + i * 3, j + 2, 300 - i * 3, 30);
            aGraphics12.setFont(font);
            aGraphics12.setColor(color.black); //startup st00f
            aGraphics12.drawString(s, (anInt10 - fontmetrics.stringWidth(s)) / 2, j + 22);
            return;
        }
    }

Replace that with this

Code:
    public void method13(int i, byte byte0, String s)
    {
    }

DONE! WewT!

Wasn't that easy?

100% credits to me, for discovering this flaw.

Reason why this was added in the first place:

I'm not 100% sure, I think that someone added this mid 2004 - 2005 testing so they could add an IN - CLIENT splash screen, why is like I said before, unkown.

Post a reply, I didn't just release it cause I was bored, but because the people need to know. :wink:

~Stability666
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
ZOMG, THANKS SO MUCH MY BABY STABILITY, THAT DUMB STARTUP WAS ANNOYING THE Ducking poop OUT OF ME!:D::drool:
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Actually, I have to disagree, there is NO reason for its being there, i removed it, and my client had only 1 side effect, better startup time.

This might have been added because, they tried to move the loading bar and background and such to Applet_Sub1, I'm not sure.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Possitive, if it did when i removed it, then i would get errors, because the variable had disappeared. But I didn't Ftw.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Yay! I'v never been told that by a pro before, even if I consider myself better then most ;D
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
I have BlackScape, which is so basic that when you click some pray icons, it teles you. Simply unassigned cases I think. I guess I didn't actually wanna start my own source... i was gonna use that as a base, then I was gonna start from nothing. Not anymore.

Edit - Cmon, i figured I'd get some feedback on this. :( Other then the people on my MSN list >_>
 
Last edited:
Back
Top