Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Stick with Windows 7 or upgrade to Windows 8?

Elite Diviner
Reaction score
I'm currently using Windows 7, as I've been doing for the past 5 years or so. Recently I got a Windows 8.1 licence in my hands and now I have the chance to upgrade. The only question is, is it worth it?
I use my computer for gaming, watching streams, photoshop and coding. Would I benefit from the upgrade in any of these tasks, or would it be just waste of time? Should I perhaps just wait for Windows 10 instead?

Help me decide?

Last edited by a moderator:
R.I.P Millercent
Loyal Member
Reaction score
With Windows 10 not that far away you'd be better off waiting for that instead of upgrading to Windows 8. It makes it 1 uppgrade not 2. Meaning it halves your chances of anything going wrong :):

Lib

Experienced Elementalist
Reaction score
With Windows 10 not that far away you'd be better off waiting for that instead of upgrading to Windows 8. It makes it 1 uppgrade not 2. Meaning it halves your chances of anything going wrong :):
also i do believe windows 10 should not have many bugs as their previous versions, so waiting some months more cant be a big deal since u did it 1 year already. So indeed what FatalLulz said waiting for win10 is the best thinng you could do?

Reaction score
Well, first of all you need to think about what you need/the hard thing about formatting/updating.

You have the chance of change now, or when Windows 10 is arrived, because, lets be honest, Windows 7 is outdated.

Since you have Windows 8.1, you will get 1 year free update on Windows 10, so that's a plus.

Windows 8.1 is way faster than Windows 7 aswell, it just takes longer to get used to it.

Reaction score