Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Emulator MMORPG

Status
Not open for further replies.
Experienced Elementalist
Reaction score
Hello Good evening, I'm studying a lot, tried a lot and have not found many lessons to learn how to emulate an online MMORPG! have some tutorial, something to help? something evident, if possible I even paid someone to teach me

Newbie Spellweaver
Reaction score
gives a general idea.
Just learn how to program and find an existing emulator project here on RZ to see how other people do it.
You will not have much luck finding 'tutorials' on such a topic.

Elite Diviner
Reaction score
You don't need a tutorial to learn how to emulate server software. If you can write software, you can make a server. It's all pretty straightforward from there. Start with an MMO game client, reverse the network protocol, make a server. If that doesn't answer your question, put in a few years learning a programming language and a bit of work in network protocols and it will be pretty evident at that point.

Junior Spellweaver
Reaction score
I don't know if you know how to program(if you don't try to learn a programming language), don't try to start with a emulator as your first project, try something simple like a Chat application:
- Make a simple client/server application, then expand it by adding more clients.
- look into communication modes(blocking or non-blocking, suggest looking into Multithreaded and IO Strategies, I would suggest going with IO strategy)
- Create groups of users make them do communication between them(similar how users communicate in the game).