Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Working with mu sources

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Hello there! I'm new here at ragezone and I would like to ask a questions I could not get answered anywhere else.
  1. Where should I start If I want to compile my own server files with client? I've seen some older tutorials, but are they still relevant for the new seasons? (referring to this)
  2. I've seen some people configuring databases as well, any posts where I can learn that?
  3. What's your personal experience working with sources? Any tips and tricks for a guy, who is just starting this out?
ps. I have some background in programming, but not specifically with c++. Just want to test myself.

Thank you :):

Reaction score
First of all welcome.

The road to understand how Mu Online is working server side/client side is a pretty tough one because there are many sources, coded in many different styles by many devs. Some of those sources are pretty hard to be followed and understand, but with patience and if you're getting used to how others did that coding, you're on the right path.

You'll absolutely need Visual Studio and C++ OOP, at least let's say a medium level of knowledge.

For example, I've started with zTeam sources for S6E3. It took me a while to follow up the code and how the things are done, even knowing C++.

Databases are already done most of the time in the repacks. You just need to understand SQL and how to write queries in your help. Only in case you need something custom, you're gonna work with the database, but most of the time, not really, maybe in your website to get info or save info.

The communication between server and client is done like this: