Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Animation and Bipedal Systems within GunZ: 2021 Edition

2D > 3D
Loyal Member
Reaction score
Hi.

TL;DR Working on animation systems and converting them over to modern systems. These are my findings. Read on or look for a release sometime soon[SUP]TM[/SUP].

Some of you may remember me from 10 years ago, as I was a pretty active developer on many games for years, including GunZ. My old friend @HellSniper and I have been talking over GunZ for old times sake, and I decided to try and take a stab at this after years. What can we do with GunZ in 2021?

Times have changed, but the game is still somehow actively played, even if it is by only a few hundred people at any given moment. Let's first talk issues with the game. From a visual standpoint, that comes down to one factor: RealSpace 2. I have seen projects porting the engine of RealSpace 3 (e.g. GunZ 2 and RaiderZ) and Unreal Engine 4 but in my honest opinion you might as well just make a clone of the game at that point. We should treat any modifications or additions to the game like anything else from the Playstation 2 era, and with that comes managed expectations.

That does not mean, however, we should continue to progress the game as it has for the last 2 decades, with a new shotgun or sword model popping up, or a 15th recolor of the same the Judgecoat set, there is still room for improvement.

This got me thinking, why are we stuck working with old animation systems with bipeds to do the heavy lifting? Although we will need 3DS Max 2010 to do actual exports of ELU/ ANI files, how can we port things over from something like Blender or C4D so we can use things like IK systems.