Sandurr's SMD Converter!

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 72
  1. #1
    Professional Aussie SunnyZ is offline
    True MemberRank
    Jul 2006 Join Date
    AustraliaLocation
    770Posts

    big grin Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Sandurr's SMD Converter!
    Originally from: 404 Not Found

    Free open source public tools for the creative members! Create your own Custom Content that we hope to see in the future!

    The tools are available to everyone who is interested in this stuff, regular players do not need to know about any of this ofcourse ;)

    Feel free to use as you like. Show off your creations in this board section when you have something. And perhaps in the future we can work together on new content!


    SMD READER (By Sandurr)

    SMD Reader: http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/.../smdreader.rar
    SMD Reader Source Code: http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/...der_source.rar



    This tool reads the .smd file and translates it into .ase file. Which can be used for further edits.

    The tool can read all smd files. Stage, models, animated models and boned models.

    A few bugs:
    - Mapping Channel export is wrong, So for some maps that use Mapping Channel, like dungeons, the textures are not properly imported.
    - Lights objects positions exports are wrong, I guess wrongly imported, didn't look much into it further yet
    - Sometimes the TVERT block seems to get bugged (non-stage smds)
    You can fix these bugs if you want by downloading the source code and write your upgrade, and let us know ;)


    3DS MAX ASE Importer Extended PLUGIN (Extended by Sandurr)

    ASE Imp: http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/...D/asciiimp.rar
    ASE Imp Source Code: http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/...imp_source.rar

    Compatible with 3DS MAX 6 and 7. With this plugin you can open .ase files into 3DS MAX for editing

    This extended version of the importer supports these extra features:

    * - Fixes MATERIAL_TWOSIDED bugged import
    * - Fixes MATERIAL_TRANSPARENCY bugged import
    * - Added bugged Physique import.. see source if you wish to fix this (Physique is only used in monsters/characters/NPCs)



    3DS MAX ASE Exporter Extended PLUGIN (Extended by Sandurr)

    ASE Exp: http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/...D/asciiexp.rar
    ASE Exp Source Code:
    http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/...exp_source.rar

    Compatible with 3DS MAX 6 and 7. With this plugin you can save .ase files from 3DS MAX to use in-game

    This extended version of the exporter supports these extra features:

    * - Supports Export of PHYSIQUE block (Physique is only used in monsters/characters/NPCs)



    The tools come as-is with no warranty of any kind. Use of the tools is at your own risk and responsibility.



    ______________________________________________________________________



    Here's a long overdue update for this.

    Updated ASE import plugin for 3Ds Max 2012 (32bit only):
    Mirror 1: http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/...12-plugins.rar

    New updated SMD to ASE converter v0.980:
    Mirror 1: http://pristonworld.com/misc/SunnyZ/...ader-0.980.rar
    Last edited by SunnyZ; 20-04-19 at 02:57 AM. Reason: Update links


  2. #2
    Account Upgraded | Title Enabled! rxaicy is offline
    True MemberRank
    Jan 2009 Join Date
    ChinaLocation
    216Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    thank u

  3. #3
    Custom title enabled bobsobol is offline
    May 2007 Join Date
    UKLocation
    5,702Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Thank you sungam3d. I have also visited the source site, and thanked Sandurr in person... I hope we can all do him this courtesy.

    I was starting on this, and his source will save so much time. It is also one of the *most* commonly asked for tools for which nothing has been available, until now.

  4. #4
    Account Inactive friskys is offline
    InactiveRank
    Mar 2011 Join Date
    42Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    this smd converter doesnt work at all...even once i did figure out how to use it properly..all it did was spew out corrupt and unseuseable ase files

  5. #5
    Professional Aussie SunnyZ is offline
    True MemberRank
    Jul 2006 Join Date
    AustraliaLocation
    770Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Quote Originally Posted by friskys View Post
    this smd converter doesnt work at all...even once i did figure out how to use it properly..all it did was spew out corrupt and unseuseable ase files
    ??? wtf??? That is what this program was designed to do.
    Convert smd to readable ase format.

    Learn how to open an ase... Or read the whole post and find ase importers and exporters for 3ds max...

    Before you start calling the best modification program ever released for PT useless, learn how to use it.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Custom title enabled bobsobol is offline
    May 2007 Join Date
    UKLocation
    5,702Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Additionally note that the SMD format has changed over the years.

    Sandurr notes that there are some bugs, and you need to clean the output plain text (ASE) file before using it, or help him fix the bugs... since he has been generous enough to share his complete source code with us. ^^

  7. #7
    Account Inactive friskys is offline
    InactiveRank
    Mar 2011 Join Date
    42Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    lol...sunnyz,you should know me well enough by now to know that i dont ever try things with a delicate touch...its like "i prefer cleaning windows with a sledgehammer"

    :/ i assume inventing new mod tools for pt must be like mixing nitro glycerin and cat poison...the reason for the bugs maybe....

    and another thing is..if everyone everywhere learned how to use things before they started complaining about them...then pt wouldve been bug free in the first place

    so how would i go about cleaning the file?(i wanted to find a premade darth revan mesh that i could upload to replace the archon mobe model...i infact found several but they were in odd formats like pk3,then i renamed the pk3 to .zip,opened it with winrar,,,and then found out that the model files were in "gml" format....and iv`e yet to find something that can take care of that)
    Last edited by friskys; 20-03-11 at 04:27 AM.

  8. #8
    Custom title enabled bobsobol is offline
    May 2007 Join Date
    UKLocation
    5,702Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Quote Originally Posted by friskys View Post
    :/ i assume inventing new mod tools for pt must be like mixing nitro glycerin and cat poison...the reason for the bugs maybe....
    More like reverse engineering a plasma rifle when you'd only just discovered gun powder TBH. Anyway, WTH invents a poison for Cats? Go on, just kill GOD while you're at it eh?
    Spoiler:
    According to Ancient Egyptian mythology Cats are the carriers for the spirit of the gods.
    I'm *very* fond of my cats. (of course, I say *my* cat's, I mean that in the way a slave refers to *his* master )
    Quote Originally Posted by friskys View Post
    and another thing is..if everyone everywhere learned how to use things before they started complaining about them...then pt wouldve been bug free in the first place
    Before people mess with it, most official releases have less "bugs" than *any* release of Microsoft Office or Windows. (larger projects expect to find more bugs) What do you want? Perfection?
    Quote Originally Posted by friskys View Post
    so how would i go about cleaning the file?(i wanted to find a premade darth revan mesh that i could upload to replace the archon mobe model...i infact found several but they were in odd formats like pk3,then i renamed the pk3 to .zip,opened it with winrar,,,and then found out that the model files were in "gml" format....and iv`e yet to find something that can take care of that)
    There is a single Mesh for Revan? I thought the history books couldn't even tell us Revans' gender... only that "it" was the first person to become both Jedi, and Sith at the same time. Mastering both passion and conscientious detachment.

    Anyway... unzipping a pk3 file is a bad idea... because there are many tools which will read pk3 files (see this site for one) and almost nothing that can read the files inside a pk3, unless you zip them back up and rename the zip to a pk3.
    Last edited by bobsobol; 20-03-11 at 04:51 AM.

  9. #9
    Account Inactive friskys is offline
    InactiveRank
    Mar 2011 Join Date
    42Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    X.X i tryed assimp to read the pk3 file but it refused the file

    also...what specifically do i need to hex in game.exe to remove the rankup headgear....

    the thing is..i havent managed to manipulate anything to the extent i need regarding the rankup headgear...i just want to obliterate the rankup headgear..or make it invisible...ive vaped the forehead peice..the white part of it...but i cant vape the .bmp file graphics (filename:mfhc02c_tie.bmp),oh i can change the color and texture alright....

    ive already converted mfhc02c_tie.bmp into a tga file which i have fully ready...but the problem is i cant get the client to load the .tga file i made...hexing mfhc02c.smd worked fine,meaning no errors,but it didnt read the .tga file when i hexed the .bmp portion to .tga

    and yes i did run hex editor on game.exe and searched for "mfhc02c_tie.bmp" but i didnt find anything at all using the inbuilt search function

    the only thing i can think of is that there must be a file beyond mfhc02c.smd that is telling the client to use mfhc02c_tie.bmp....i need to know which file or files it is so i can hex the .bmp portion to .tga

  10. #10
    Account Inactive Vormav is offline
    InactiveRank
    Jan 2009 Join Date
    1,320Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Great release indeed. I hope it will push people to create new content for PT.
    It will not open SMB right? rPT/uPT probably have it too, but I wonder how T5 skills that they where creating are doing?
    Time to create something to thank Sandurr

  11. #11
    Member Kenni is offline
    MemberRank
    Oct 2009 Join Date
    DenmarkLocation
    32Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Quote Originally Posted by Vormav View Post
    Great release indeed. I hope it will push people to create new content for PT.
    It will not open SMB right? rPT/uPT probably have it too, but I wonder how T5 skills that they where creating are doing?
    Time to create something to thank Sandurr
    .SMD = The model
    .SMB = The animations

    It can also open the animations ;)
    When you convert the .SMD, it will also convert the belonging .SMB(s) , and assemble it all in one file (an .Ase).
    Last edited by Kenni; 20-03-11 at 10:53 AM.

  12. #12
    Account Inactive friskys is offline
    InactiveRank
    Mar 2011 Join Date
    42Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    what the..no wonder it wasnt working...anyone mind telling me where the smb files for mfhc02c.bmp are?

  13. #13
    Member Kenni is offline
    MemberRank
    Oct 2009 Join Date
    DenmarkLocation
    32Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    Quote Originally Posted by friskys View Post
    what the..no wonder it wasnt working...anyone mind telling me where the smb files for mfhc02c.bmp are?
    lol, try to learn using it before complaining the hell out.

    I doubt mfhc02c.bmp has a smb file, because the mfhc02c.bmp is the texture of a head model, I believe it has a smd.
    Hint: check out the inx

  14. #14
    Account Inactive friskys is offline
    InactiveRank
    Mar 2011 Join Date
    42Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    -.- i did that...eh...do you sir perhaps know what i need to do to remove the prs rankup headgear for original hairstyle b? (not interested in modding a or c default hairstyle headgear)

    im needing to know which file i need to use to copy over which other files

  15. #15
    Custom title enabled bobsobol is offline
    May 2007 Join Date
    UKLocation
    5,702Posts

    Re: Sandurr's SMD Converter!

    BMPs don't have animations. ASE have meshes, materials (diffuse maps, opacity maps, colours, reflectivity) and "frames". (which equates to animations)

    SMD contains pointers to the SMB files it uses... but, bodies and heads are different, because the same animation is applied to the bones (bips) for several characters heads and bodies. (hair tints and armour and so on)



Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Advertisement