Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Weird NPC Issue “quest operation”?

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
I revived a V83 maplestory server of mine and even rebuilt it using HeavenMS. As I started working through all the bugs and found one that’s driving me crazy. On certain NPCs when you try to complete, or even start a quest, you’ll see a message that reads “Approach the NPC to fulfill this quest operation.”
I’ve looked through the code so many times, and even compared it to working NPCs and can’t see to pinpoint the issue.

Has anyone experienced this? If so, how did you fix it?

I’m not a Java pro by any means but I am an IOS developer for a MAJOR company and have been a software engineer since the late 90s. That being said, it drives me NUTS when I can’t find anything wrong.

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Hey, ive encountered the same error while trying to complete 2nd job magician advancement... can you please help me out and tell me how you fixed it?

Upvote 0
Initiate Mage
Reaction score
Got your PM, figured I'd post it here in case someone else needs the info as well. Make sure your server is offline so that all the changes will take place. Also, make backups of all your files, just in case. Back in the day I was SOO cocky I used to modify live sites/apps, in doing this I actually crashed the content management application for a MAJOR retailer. They were down for 2 hours while I restored from backup. While it's good to learn from your mistakes, it's better to learn from other peoples mistakes.