Centos With no internet??

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Account Inactive Thesnowman is offline
    InactiveRank
    Nov 2007 Join Date
    425Posts

    Centos With no internet??

    Ok so i got my centos up and running, With the help of Chumpys guide. But yet on my VM centos i have no internet connection, And when i ping i cant reach them.

    Please View all the attachments and get back to me asap.

    Thanks in Advance.

    -TheSnowman
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails centosping.jpg   Centosping2.jpg   Centosping3.jpg   Centosping4.jpg   Centosping5.jpg  



  2.  
  3. #2
    Account Inactive flyba is offline
    InactiveRank
    Apr 2006 Join Date
    PhilippinesLocation
    388Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    on screenshot 4 Primary DNS should be 192.168.1.1 not 192.168.1.104

    and you should disable VMware Network Adapter VMnet8 and VMnet1 on windows

  4. #3
    Account Inactive Thesnowman is offline
    InactiveRank
    Nov 2007 Join Date
    425Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    How do i disable the network adapters on windows vista? I go to networks and i only see my PC and Router...

  5. #4
    Account Inactive flyba is offline
    InactiveRank
    Apr 2006 Join Date
    PhilippinesLocation
    388Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    Sorry but i don't use vista(sucks) try to look here his using vista
    http://forum.ragezone.com/showthread.php?t=462114

  6. #5
    Account Inactive Thesnowman is offline
    InactiveRank
    Nov 2007 Join Date
    425Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    K i disabled VM1 but enabled VM8 and set my VMware from bridged to Custom, Selected VM8 (NAT) like his guide said then i changed the gateway to 192.168.1.1 and now i still have no internet connection

  7. #6
    The forgetful chumpywumpy is offline
    The OmegaRank
    Jun 2008 Join Date
    /f451/Location
    5,189Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    Have you tried pinging a website like google by ip address? Chances are you do have a internet connection and it is just dns resolution that isn't working. Dns isn' needed by the server anyway.

    Also, i would suggest checking your router's control panel to find your actual dns server rather than using lan ones or the router for dns resolution.
    My Cabal server files, guides, tools and other stuff:
    http://forum.ragezone.com/f459/my-collection-545201

  8. #7
    Account Inactive WulfgarXX is offline
    InactiveRank
    Jan 2007 Join Date
    1,575Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    If everything is local, it's a waste of time and ressources to use an external dns system, the local one, mine is 168.172.1.1, for both VMWare and The Host OS.

    and DNS stands for Domain Name Server, so it doesn't bother IP addresses at all!

  9. #8
    Account Inactive Thesnowman is offline
    InactiveRank
    Nov 2007 Join Date
    425Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    Quote Originally Posted by chumpywumpy View Post
    Have you tried pinging a website like google by ip address? Chances are you do have a internet connection and it is just dns resolution that isn't working. Dns isn' needed by the server anyway.

    Also, i would suggest checking your router's control panel to find your actual dns server rather than using lan ones or the router for dns resolution.
    When i open Firefox in Centos and try to load google nothing happens. When i set it to those settings in the attachment and i ping my gateway like it says in your guide i get the unable to access it error. But it took forever.

    So now i went to network connections and disabled VM1 or whatever and enabled the VM8 and i set the ethernet to Custom VM8 instead of bridged and i still had the same values for gateway and stuff but this time when i pinged it i got the unable to access it error right away.

    Quote Originally Posted by WulfgarXX View Post
    If everything is local, it's a waste of time and ressources to use an external dns system, the local one, mine is 168.172.1.1, for both VMWare and The Host OS.

    and DNS stands for Domain Name Server, so it doesn't bother IP addresses at all!
    So how do i get internet to work for my VMware? i mean clearly it works for my Host OS since im on Ragezone right now but for my centos it doesnt...

  10. #9
    The forgetful chumpywumpy is offline
    The OmegaRank
    Jun 2008 Join Date
    /f451/Location
    5,189Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    Quote Originally Posted by WulfgarXX View Post
    If everything is local, it's a waste of time and ressources to use an external dns system, the local one, mine is 168.172.1.1, for both VMWare and The Host OS.
    It is actually more efficient and also a touch faster to go straight to the isp for dns resolution unless you specifically need to intercept certain hostnames and redirect them to local addesses first. When a computer wants to resolve a web address and you have it configured to use the router it asks the router, the router asks the ISP DNS server which responds to the router which then passes it to your compter. If it is going straight to the external dns server first the router the request taskes is half as long, comupter to dns and back again.

    @Thesnowman - Have a look at the comments i posted on another topic as i think it could help you out.
    http://forum.ragezone.com/showthread...wpost&t=444970
    My Cabal server files, guides, tools and other stuff:
    http://forum.ragezone.com/f459/my-collection-545201

  11. #10
    Account Inactive Thesnowman is offline
    InactiveRank
    Nov 2007 Join Date
    425Posts

    Re: Centos With no internet??

    Fixed:

    1. Open Network Connections
    2. Open Manage Network Connections
    3. Disable Hamachi
    4. Move Local internet infront of hamachi.
    5. Power Centos down
    6. Power Centos Up

    Walaa fixed.


  12.  

    Latest Gaming Releases

Advertisement