Errors when repacking models.pck

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie ToastyMallows is offline
    MemberRank
    Mar 2021 Join Date
    4Posts

    Errors when repacking models.pck

    Apologies if this is in the wrong section or has been answered elsewhere. I've had no luck searching for answers on my own.

    I'm unable to successfully repack models.pck, and I have no idea why. Even if I repack the files without touching them, I still get the same error (as attached). It translates to "the game resource installed on your machine lacks an important file" and the file referenced in the title of the error box is white tiger something.

    I've used both sPCK and WinPCK and it doesn't seem to make any difference. Other .pcks seem to repack just fine. I also tried using different compression levels.

    Game version is 1.3.6, build 2265.

    On the off-chance it's somehow relevant, I also abruptly had issues with Photoshop suddenly not recognising the nVidia DDS plugin. Couldn't work that one out, either, but for now a different DDS plugin source is working...

    ETA: It turns out that repacking other .pcks doesn't QUITE work either, even if it doesn't throw an error, as evidenced by the somewhat terrifying snip I've also attached...facedata.pck files were untouched. Literally just unpacked and repacked.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails error.PNG   facedata.PNG  
    Last edited by ToastyMallows; 14-03-21 at 08:46 AM.


  2. #2
    Psy Sins Psytrac is offline
    Alpha MaleRank
    Jul 2011 Join Date
    Hammond, INLocation
    1,894Posts

    Re: Errors when repacking models.pck

    the error is that it's missing an IMPORTANT character, which means you missed something when you packed it back up

  3. #3
    Omega 343 is offline
    The OmegaRank
    Oct 2009 Join Date
    Ancient DGN CTYLocation
    5,513Posts

    Re: Errors when repacking models.pck

    Other advice, ditch photoshop - start learning GIMP

    I used to bootleg photoshop too (yea, no way in hell I'd pay for it!) but GIMP is so much better!

    GIMP even has built in DDS support, and doesn't need no stinkin' "plugin" !!!!!!!

    But really, GIMP is just as good if not better than photo shop AND it's FREE and open source - you can't beat it!

    - - - Updated - - -

    https://www.gimp.org/downloads/

    - - - Updated - - -

    As far as 136 goes, I have never used these 'newer' packers with old 136, maybe try to use original "PWPACK" to see if you get different results (IF you have my PW_DEV.iso that can be found under PW-PCK directory)

    ¤ My Public Releases ¤




  4. #4
    Newbie ToastyMallows is offline
    MemberRank
    Mar 2021 Join Date
    4Posts

    Re: Errors when repacking models.pck

    @ 343 PWPack seems to work, thank you! It's just so weird that it wouldn't work for me, because someone else with the exact same stuff has no problem with sPCK.

    Also, my Photoshop is actually a legit one :p It's an old student version of CS5. I'm really bad at learning new versions of something I'm familiar with. Interestingly, I noticed that the same dds actually saves almost 100kb smaller through PS than in GIMP.
    @ Psytrac the file IS there, though, that's why I had to post here for help.
    Last edited by ToastyMallows; 15-03-21 at 09:57 AM.

  5. #5
    Omega 343 is offline
    The OmegaRank
    Oct 2009 Join Date
    Ancient DGN CTYLocation
    5,513Posts

    Re: Errors when repacking models.pck

    Quote Originally Posted by ToastyMallows View Post
    @ 343 PWPack seems to work, thank you! It's just so weird that it wouldn't work for me, because someone else with the exact same stuff has no problem with sPCK.

    Also, my Photoshop is actually a legit one :p It's an old student version of CS5. I'm really bad at learning new versions of something I'm familiar with. Interestingly, I noticed that the same dds actually saves almost 100kb smaller through PS than in GIMP.
    @ Psytrac the file IS there, though, that's why I had to post here for help.
    Also check out paint.net - it too has integrated DDS support

    I am brand new to GIMP myself, but I am loving it! Also enjoying paint.net!

    Also, glad you got your main issue resolved When it came to 136 I never used/use anything besides the good ol'e trusty PWPACK !!!

    ¤ My Public Releases ¤




  6. #6
    Libre Software Developer PyroSamurai is offline
    ModeratorRank
    Sep 2012 Join Date
    USALocation
    661Posts

    Re: Errors when repacking models.pck

    GIMP likes to save extra data by default. Disable the stuff you don't need in the 'export as' option after manually selecting the DDS file format.
    Happy Hacking!
    "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not."-Dr. Seuss

    I don't want admiration. I want you to follow my example.
    The best way to bring moderator attention to a post is to use the report button (⚠️).

    Like my releases or want to thank me? -> give me rep. (✶ at bottom left)
    For other displays of affection -> use the like button.
    Moderator of Trickster Online & f168
    RZ Dev


  7. #7
    Omega 343 is offline
    The OmegaRank
    Oct 2009 Join Date
    Ancient DGN CTYLocation
    5,513Posts

    Re: Errors when repacking models.pck

    Quote Originally Posted by PyroSamurai View Post
    GIMP likes to save extra data by default. Disable the stuff you don't need in the 'export as' option after manually selecting the DDS file format.
    That's actually what I was thinking too, I've just been too busy working on my release update to actually investigate that - thank you for confirming that!

    ¤ My Public Releases ¤






Advertisement