Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Buying a new MB + CPU

Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
272
Reaction score
1
my current pc is the following:
MB: MSI K9N NEO V2 / V3 (AM2 Sockel)
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 4200+
GRAPHIC: Nvidia Geforce 8500 GT
RAM: 3GB RAM (800 MHZ)
HDD: 250 GB SATA2
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (retail) 32 bit
--
Im thinking of to buy this..
i wann buy this
ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0, 775, ATX
( german sry .. scroll down and ull see the important things)
and
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6300 Box, 2048Kb, LGA775, 64bit
(
german sry ...)

So my question is ..
Can i also use 32 bit windows on the cpu ? or just 64 bit
is the cpu just 1x 2.8ghz or 2x 2.8ghz ? cuz it says E6300 lol
thanks for helping
 
Last edited:
Master Summoner
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
505
Reaction score
8
i'm not quite sure, but nonetheless i'd say no.

The most you're ever going to have your OS use if you're not running the x64 version is 3.5GB. The address space for 32-bit is only 4GB, and .5GB of that will need to be reserved for other purposes. Microsoft made the strange decision back with Vista SP1 to change the memory display to show installed memory rather than available for use, and I'm fairly sure that's still the policy with Windows 7. Even if you have 8GB and it reports 8GB, the amount available to the OS in a 32-bit is 4GB, of which it'll really only likely use 3.5GB at most.


---------- Post added at 12:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:27 PM ----------

1) 32-bit operating systems will only be able to access 4GB of memory, and of that most applications will only be able to use 2GB.

aafyvwubdhinjwamkdaw
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
272
Reaction score
1
means its 2x 2,8ghz ? like
5600 MHZ in total ?
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
765
Reaction score
5
means its 2x 2,8ghz ? like
5600 MHZ in total ?

errm NO.

the motherboard is probably the most important part of your computer.
by investing into a poor quality low end chipset motherboard, you are locking yourself into a path of no upgrade, appalling performance and bags of unachievable expectations.



this motherboard has a nice p45 chipset that supports lots of ddr2 ram and all the 775 processors under the sky, asus update their bios frequently enough to fix any bugs and they build reliable motherboards.
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
272
Reaction score
1
i cant spend so much .. i only have like 120 Euro total to spend -.-
 
WHOOOOOO
Loyal Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
960
Reaction score
47
don't get the pentium dual core chips. either get the core 2 ones or the amd chips if the core 2 duos are too expensive.
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
272
Reaction score
1
most for gaming .. :/ my current pc cant handle much
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
765
Reaction score
5
ok then go for one of these two:


i suggest you go for foxconn, p45 chipset nice and overclockable
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
272
Reaction score
1
thank you a lot for answering
ill go to the shop and c what i can do ...
or i have to order it
 
Back
Top