Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Changing the port of apache server

Initiate Mage
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Goto your apache folder/conf/httpd.conf (open in notepad)
scrolldown until you see "Listen 80" and change that to a port you want

Port 80 is the default http port, so i don think thats your problem.
Note: once changing the port, you have to restart apache

if you are behind a router, setup a static ip on the server and have your router forward port 80 to your server.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Well, I can't configure muh for routers. I am behind a college campus firewall, and this is intended for use just across campus. I know ports 80 and 8080 are open (and any other port that World of Warcraft regularly uses.. the networing guys specifically opened up those ports so they could play the legit version). In any case, if I changed the port to anything other than 80, the server couldn't even see the web page by using
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
What you will be able to acomplish is going to depend heavily on the network of your college campus. You may not be able to do what you would like to do.
If you are given an IP that falls into a private IP address range, your option is pretty much limited to campus only players, due to the way these addresses are handled by routers.
10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
169.254.0.0 - 169.254.255.255
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255
If your IP falls into one of the above ranges, you have a private IP.

If you have a public IP, you have more options. I would recommand changing from a IP based method (which may change if assigned by DHCP) of locating your server, to a named method.

1. Check to see if your IP can be detected outside of the college campus. ( )
2. Create an account for free DNS services. ( )
3. Use your domain name in place of your IP.

Hope this helps. :thumb:
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Dec 30, 2004
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Well, I can't configure muh for routers. I am behind a college campus firewall, and this is intended for use just across campus. I know ports 80 and 8080 are open (and any other port that World of Warcraft regularly uses.. the networing guys specifically opened up those ports so they could play the legit version). In any case, if I changed the port to anything other than 80, the server couldn't even see the web page by using
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Yeah, it's a private IP (10.X.X.X). But I had planned to only have campus players anyways. That's the idea. Even so, other people on campus still can't access the web page. I will try messing around with the ports a little more. Is there something in specific I should be trying?

Thanks, Jeremy


Edit: Changed the listen port to 8080 (another open port) and tried doing localhost:8080 on the server and it didn't find it ....
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
Sounds like you are running a firewall on your PC. Try turning it off, or remove it during testing. After you have a working configuration, you can turn it back on and configure it to allow incoming requests for whichever ports you use.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Yeah, I checked for that. Strange thing tho.. Ok, bear with me on this explanation:

They give us 2 ethernet jacks per room. 1 is occupied by my roomates computer. The other plugs into a hub that both the server and my computer plug into. On my computer, I can access the web page on the server (using the 10.x.x.x ip address). My roomate can not. This is obviously because I am connected to the hub along with the server.

This, I would think, meant that the server is configured correctly, but something in the network is blocking it. I can't see how they could block port 80 considering.. I'm using it to view this page.

does it somehow use another port? That would be my guess.. and where can I change it?
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
i have no idea if it will work, but try a hamachi network, hamachi is like a local network that may just work allowing other people to connect.

Hamachi will assign you a ip address and register it to your pc. then it will allow you to serve access to other people on campus.
The downside is that all the people who want to play on your server has to use hamachi and login into your network.
the up side is that everyone can access your website and server thru that hamachi ip after loggin into your network.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Ok, this *did* seem to work.. a bit..

It could only load the main page and it was really slow.

Also, many of the people who will be using the campus WoW server aren't very computer literate. Telling them to run/install a program (in addition to installing WoW) probably wont work well.

This is probably not the ideal way for me to do this, although I appreciate the creativity and the suggestion.

Edit: I think networking just noticed what I was doing and blocked the ports. Hamachi doesn't work anymore.
 
Back
Top