Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Common Problems / Questions Answered

Newbie Spellweaver
Reaction score
Ok I can feel the frurstration of alot of the moderators here as I see alot of the same questions asked all over and answered. The goal of this guide is so that people can be pointed to a single location with common answers instead of the "OMFG READ" replies (Dont get me wrong I feel your pain on some of these), until Search functionality is restored. I have wanted / dug for a general FAQ of Server / Client problems and answers and I hope this helps some people out.

So to clear up alot of the "Stupid" questions / problems I am going to compile a list of them and answer what I can. Keep in mind I am new to this and will not be able to answer some technical questions / problems but can share my experinces and what I have seen and done. I assume you have some basic knowledge on MySQL (Connectivity at least) and basic TCP / IP Networking Knowledge (Your IP Address Inside "LAN" and Outside "WAN" if needed). If you do not know your outside IP Address and need it please goto

I am working with a TBC 2.0.2.6144 Server Repack, however some of these questions are global to any version.

Server Questions:
1) Where do I get MySQL 5?
A)
If you got stuck here, you might want to venture else where.

2) What ports are required to be opened in a Firewall / Router for Public Internet Connectivity?
A) From what I have read the Realm Server uses port 8085, WoW 3724, and TBC 3725.

3) How can I get a DNS Name on my DSL & Cable (Dynamic IP)?
A) There are a few services that offer dynamic IP to name resolution service.
I am a fan of (They are a pay site however)

- Seems to be mentioned alot here.