Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Crash from either Vista, Server, or Client

Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I am wondering what could perhaps be the reason for a server to crash. I have followed the guide set up by Mahi, and I was able to enter the server for exactly 2 minutes (I actually did time every attempt into logging in), until the window just closes. At first I thought the problem was with the server, but none of the *.log files recorded any errors (except for 24:1 server notify time over in GlobalMgrSvr.log and the getq fail in DBAgent_24.log). Due to the 2 minutes limit, I further modified all *.ini that had a timer set to 120000 (I am assuming this means 120 seconds) to no avail. As for the client, I have used both GP-cabal's and OGPlanet's clients (both clients reinstalled twice from fresh downloads). I was able to enter OG's client, but once modified with snaity's patch, I still crashed every 2 minutes. Finally I have tried turning off Vista's many security programs including UAC and Windows Firewall. I have enabled ports 1433, 38111, 38121, 38101. My CPU Usage ranged between 30% to 60% so I believe my computer has strong enough specs to handle the server. Moreover, since I was to play OG's cabal, I believe my wireless connection is sufficient as well. Just in case, my computer specs are:

2.00Ghz Intel Dual Core
3.00 GB RAM with 200GB Hard Drive
Vista 32-bit, with NVIDIA GeForce 8400M Gs
Wireless g connection

I'm sorry for the lengthy explanation, but I want to be thorough. I have used the Search function exhaustively to find any similiar cases but none have worked. If anyone can help solve my crash dilemma I will very grateful.

~Jk
 
The Cat in the Hat
Legend
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
4,475
Reaction score
677
I should have watched my mouth and not said/talked poop to DeadlyData telling him things like your are not welcome here because then I become the one who is truly not welcome here.
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
The gp client should not need snaity's patch. I have seen several clients do this but i have not had the problem with the gp client as long as i don't mess with it.
 
Upvote 0
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
213
Reaction score
1
why use vista, why not xp or 2000 server? you know vista use a lot of your memory resource.... I prefer you not use vista, just use xp or 2000....
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
@cypher66
May I ask if you use Vista? If so, what have you done differently from Mahi's guide (i.e. open certain ports), or did you not do anything at all (meaning there's a problem with my server)?

@chumpywumpy
Seems like a plausible idea, but even when I play GP-cabal normally without the patch I still get d/c'ed, crash, window closes. I will try it out anyway.


@myliquid
Yes, I know Vista can be quite needy, but I prefer to keep it rather than install a new OS system. Since my computer is fairly new, it can handle quite a load and I doubt its resource usage can be the source of my consistent crashing. Then again, I can be wrong, so I'll see if I can install the server into a computer with XP installed.

Edit:
Problem fixed. Reason for crashing was due to snaity's patch and was remedied by using Darkxl's PatchLogin client, snaity's english patch, CcyClOne's GameGaurd Fix. Thank you everyone above for your help. It is very appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
im a vista 64bit user but it works fine w/ me, but sometimes it crash
i guess my simple question is what is your windows Experience score ? mine is 5.0 because it tells in which part your pc is lack i think ur cpu and hd has a 5 score but how is your memory & video card score.... then the lowest score in your system is your exp score

Just like other said vista is a resource hug so thats Y its so has nice GUI....
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top