Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Easier way to edit Mangos database?

Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Well to edit the mangos database to change items etc... ive been doing it manually, going into SQLyog and creating a new row for the item, and having to input all the columns of information manually. Im just wondering if there was a different easier way to do it. Ive tried Mangos Database Handler, but it kept on giving me a configuration error.
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
I guess a different or easier way of adding entries to your mangos database, will depend on how you store the original data that you use to populate each new entry.

I work on a number of different 'projects', so on occasion I will have raw data to add, stored in text or CSV files. The data might look like:

1,235,247,0,247,0
or
1 235 247 0 247 0
OR
1,235,247,0,"big stick",0
or
1 235 247 0 'big stick' 0


When this is the case, I tend to use a text parsing tool like to put the data into a SQL usable format, by adding the necessary spaces and brackets etc. giving me:

(1, 235, 247, 0, 247, 0)
OR
(1, 235, 247, 0, "big stick", 0)


and having it place INSERT commands in front of the data and a semicolon at the end, giving me:

INSERT INTO `my_table` VALUES (1, 235, 247, 0, 247, 0);
OR
INSERT INTO `my_table` VALUES (1, 235, 247, 0, "big stick", 0);


Once I have a number of these SQL commands, I can do an import or run them as SQL.

For me this is easier, but I will tell you now that many text replacement tools can take a while to set up to properly handle your data. Basically you will need to get used to another tool, and it may not be worth it for you.
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Well to edit the mangos database to change items etc... ive been doing it manually, going into SQLyog and creating a new row for the item, and having to input all the columns of information manually. Im just wondering if there was a different easier way to do it. Ive tried Mangos Database Handler, but it kept on giving me a configuration error.

New hear but what ive found that is awesome for it is mangos mdh. i think you can find it here [SIZE=-1]www.bluesailor.net/MDH.php just message me if you have questions...its pretty simple though.[/SIZE]
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Well to edit the mangos database to change items etc... ive been doing it manually, going into SQLyog and creating a new row for the item, and having to input all the columns of information manually. Im just wondering if there was a different easier way to do it. Ive tried Mangos Database Handler, but it kept on giving me a configuration error.

Anything else ?
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
3,245
Reaction score
1,652
Besides MDH, the only way to add new stuff is to do it manually. I'm currently working on a wow.allakhazam xml-to-sql converter, which will make it EXTREMELY easy to add missing items to the DB. At the moment, it only works for Kobold v3, but I'll probably release a MaNGOS-compatible one too.
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
72
Reaction score
0
i had the same problem with the mdh, but i solved it with trying other versions of it. if you dont have the newest rev of mangos, you cant use the newest version of mdh.sometimes it works, but mostly not.but i dont know which rev you have...
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
Besides MDH, the only way to add new stuff is to do it manually. I'm currently working on a wow.allakhazam xml-to-sql converter, which will make it EXTREMELY easy to add missing items to the DB. At the moment, it only works for Kobold v3, but I'll probably release a MaNGOS-compatible one too.

That would be great allakhazam xml-to-sql converter, pls let me know by pm when its ready.

Cheers, Krayhan.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Well if you are adding totally new items then make the items on download it to mangos, copy and paste the script into the query section of sqlyog press ctrl and A then Ctrl F9. that will add the new item. If you want to edit something that you already have in the data base then try using a db editor like quice. Although I would use version quice_1_2_54 as the latest gives me errors when editing quests.


Lol I just saw how old this thread is :S I hope you have managed it by now lol
 
Last edited:
Back
Top