Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Explorer.exe crash - i choose to not view any icons on dekstop.

Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
As the topic explains, i choose to not view any icons on the desktop, i was just gonna try one thing, and just suddently my explorer.exe crashed. I have tryed to start explorer.exe via CTRL + ALT + DELETE, explorer showed up for 1 second then it crashed again.
So my main question is; can i change if the icons on the desktop shows up without using explorer.exe? Maybe opening up som configuration file if there's one for that?

(And i can't use system restore, it's fucked)
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
Reinstall windows, That's the best you can do.
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
I really really don't want to re-install windows, there must be an other option?
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
153
Reaction score
1
Please, stop the re-installing/re-formatting Windows. There's thousands of poop else you could do rather than reformatting.

You could just try and use your XP rescue disc, or then, I'll post more later on.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
Sounds like you get the mother of all viruses.
Use programs like AVG, Macafee or Norton. Yes they slow down you PC but when you get viruses there worth it.
Try getting a free download of the, of you can, and do a full scan, if you got a windows disk use it to repair windows files, btw a windows repair doesn't delete anything, it just replaces windows files.
 
Instanthost.org
Loyal Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
564
Reaction score
5
Lol, you lot dont know what you are talking about.! ^^'

Anyway, I had this problem on vista home basic, I would try opening my documents, it would crash, then my exploerer.exe would crash.

You need to do a waindows update to fix this, I dont know how to fix this error off by heart but all i reccomend you do is Google 'How to stop explorer.exe crashing'

Usually helps to let things load up before clicking things in vista..
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,060
Reaction score
1,573
It is not a virus, he must have had too many shortcuts on his desktop and his computer simply could not handle hiding all of them cos remember - just cos you can't see them doesn't man they are not there. As far at the PC is concerned, the shortcuts are still there, they just aren't being rendered.

It is crashing cos the system cannot handle them, there must be a conflict somewhere - one thing is telling the PC to hide the icons, something else is telling it to show them. It doesn't know what to do so it crashes.

I would try a disk repair if i were you, but if your system restore doesn't work either, i would highly recommend a re-format. Without a system restore working your PC is in ALOT of trouble - things like AVG and SPYBOT use system restore points but if its not workign they will not be effective.
 
Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Messages
1,315
Reaction score
0
Explorer.exe renders your entire desktop, icons, taskbar etc. If that doesn't work, you're mostly fucked.

Your best bet is either running a repair from the windows disk, or a reinstall of windows.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
Why do you want to remove all icons any way??
SOme yes, but why all, you have to go into start menu all the time.
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
I plugged my tv into the computer to watch some movies (cba burn movies ^^)

Maybe one of these processes conflict with explorer?

Illusion - Explorer.exe crash - i choose to not view any icons on dekstop. - RaGEZONE Forums

Illusion - Explorer.exe crash - i choose to not view any icons on dekstop. - RaGEZONE Forums
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
Only programs that conflict with Explorer.exe would be viruses. I seriously doubt any of those would crash it.
EDIT: BTW i am not saying he has a virus. Try a windows repair. After that i don't know. If it still dosn't work try a format, but that my opinion.
 
Elite Diviner
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
487
Reaction score
1
CTRL+ALT+Delete
Run: Control

Administrative tools:
Services

Look for explorer and make sure it isnt disabeled.
If that isnt your problem go into safe mode (when you restart PC) and enable the show all icons again.
 
Divine Celestial
Loyal Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
882
Reaction score
0
I plugged my tv into the computer to watch some movies (cba burn movies ^^)

Maybe one of these processes conflict with explorer?

Illusion - Explorer.exe crash - i choose to not view any icons on dekstop. - RaGEZONE Forums

Illusion - Explorer.exe crash - i choose to not view any icons on dekstop. - RaGEZONE Forums

Only process that looks off is 'script.dll'.

Also, what operating system are you running? If you're running XP Pro, Vista Business, or Vista Ultimate you would be able to disable desktop icons through the Group Policy editor (gpedit.msc).
 
Chasing 99 Red Balloons
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
857
Reaction score
229
try to open up a folder via ctrl + alt + delete via that browse to the desktop folder :)

outher options xp disc and repair windows

ctrl + alt + del kill programs taht look like poop lol :p (not advised)

format

make sure your explorer sint corup or replace from the back up file x]
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
Theres a way to set a process to have higher priority. Make Explorer have higher priority.
 
Elite Diviner
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
487
Reaction score
1
try to open up a folder via ctrl + alt + delete via that browse to the desktop folder :)

outher options xp disc and repair windows

ctrl + alt + del kill programs taht look like poop lol :p (not advised)

format

make sure your explorer sint corup or replace from the back up file x]
Rofl, you sound like an idiot. (No offence)
If you don't advise it, why should he do it xD. Explorer wouldent be corrupt becasue it would say that "This file you are trying to run is corrupt"

Theres a way to set a process to have higher priority. Make Explorer have higher priority.
If explorer has a higher priority, the problem is that it will slow the computer down to a crawl.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
Wud not duel core take over that. Have 50% of one core for explorer while doin the icon thing and rest for other programs, then have it set to default back wen ur doing getting rid of ur icons. I tried making icons go away, was slow 1st did it, but after did it in a instant.
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
Only process that looks off is 'script.dll'.

Also, what operating system are you running? If you're running XP Pro, Vista Business, or Vista Ultimate you would be able to disable desktop icons through the Group Policy editor (gpedit.msc).





I'm running XP Pro, please give me some more information about how to disable it trough gpedit. :)
 
Divine Celestial
Loyal Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
882
Reaction score
0
I'm running XP Pro, please give me some more information about how to disable it trough gpedit. :)

Run gpedit.msc via taskmgr.

User -> Administrative Templates -> Desktop,
Double-click 'Hide and disable all items on desktop' (should be right at the top under two folders), and click 'Enable' in the properties box.

You should have to restart in order for this to take effect.
 
A hard working geek :-)
Loyal Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
1,750
Reaction score
236
So why in gods name dont you just remove all the icons by either dragging them into your taskbar, or jsut deleting them? hell, stick them in a folder and move the folder under the C: or something.. whatever your doing to 'make your desktop clear' is wrong.
 
Back
Top