Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Help me about Connection

Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
64
Reaction score
3
Hello everyone!
I've read all tut's about IPs, Connection with Windows and CentOS, e etc.

But, evertything that I tried, nothing good happends.
This Pic Shows my internet connection:
dezon - Help me about Connection - RaGEZONE Forums

Maybe if someone experienced with this thing teach me i'll take it running.

Thanks anyway.

ps.: I've read all about connection ok...
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
hi

its a troublesome subject and no one can tell you the specific ip u need to use.

but i suggest you read the help and support chummpywumpy gives in his pdf for centos.

following his guide i set mine up in 1 try ^^

@dezon ok try this as its what i done follow and look at chummpys guide, at the bottom of the guide he shows his own ip address for his pc, then go back up the guide you will notice that he adds 3 to the original ip address he has. try doing the same with yours and add the rest as they apear in your own pc ipconfig. ie primary ip and mask ^^
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
64
Reaction score
3
@peter north
Hey, thanks for answering!
But, I've read them made as ther says but I can Ping CentOS but in CentOS I cant ping windows.
Edited: Its says when I try to ping windows:
Network is Unreacheble.
 
Upvote 0
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
622
Reaction score
4
it means you have no net. ^^

reinstall centos, dont touch anything. if NAT then nothing needs to be changed, if bridged, make sure to disable automatic bridging by manually setting your lan card.

retest.
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
64
Reaction score
3
@chumpywumpy,
Hey man, I'm using ESET antivirus, it block all internet conection but, if I make an rule for some application, it allow the connection, I made it on the VMware and Sill wont working, I've read maron86 post and works for a litle time, but When I restarted the CentOS its come back the configuration and nothing more works.
I'll re-install the VMware, CentOS and try somethings. What you think about?

@[hidden],
Yes I have net on MY normal pc. My internet is different by others, its an moden that provides my internet, but its provides like local connection. I dont have an local ip like 192.168.x.xxx
I only have an IP that I can navigate in the internet...

Thanks anyway
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
It sounds like your centos IP is changing when it reboots. After it has started up check it's ip address and subnet mask with "ifconfig" and then manually set that IP address on the eth0 adaptor (might want to add DNS server too). That should stop it changing so your config will keep working.
 
Upvote 0
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
622
Reaction score
4
i have the same situation as you but i have 2 lan cards on the system im on, one connecting another system via crosscable. im on static ip, and i already tested that i cant use my wan ethernet card for centos ip + net.

could you try first using NAT if it works for you?
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
64
Reaction score
3
@All,
Hey guys, I've re-installed both; VMware and CentOS 4.6.
COnfiguration:
Conection: NAT

Now it's running, I can ping windows from linux and linux from windows.
Thanks to all you that helped me !!!
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top