Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Is Python pointless?

r63

Elite Diviner
Reaction score
I've been looking at the syntax of Python 3.3 recently and can't help thinking the language is a bit pointless and limited, am I wrong or is it really that limited?

Pee Aitch Pee
Reaction score
I have no experience with Python yet, but I know that Google uses it for many of their projects.

• uses Python for many tasks including the backends of web apps such as , , and , as well as for some of its search-engine internals
  • is using Python to implement a / / repository and model management, integration, and transformation system which will be the core infrastructure for its next-generation collaborative engineering environment
  • was originally written in , but was rewritten in Python in 2005
  • uses Python "to maintain its discussion groups"
  • uses Python "to produce maintainable features in record times, with a minimum of developers"

So no, I don't think you can say it's limited and pointless.

Reaction score
I've been looking at the syntax of Python 3.3 recently and can't help thinking the language is a bit pointless and limited, am I wrong or is it really that limited?
Python isn't limited, it just forces you to format your code consistently- which is a good thing.

Developer
Developer
Reaction score
I wouldn't say pointless at all.

At the very least, it's a teaching language. It's easy for starters because of the non-strict syntax (although you better learn how to line-indent, because it's what's going to be taking up most of your time).

Aside from that, it's also very widely used because of its stability, and the fact that it is a very low level language.

r63

Elite Diviner
Reaction score