Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Is this good?

Banned
Banned
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
283
Reaction score
0
Ive always been curious about my PC.. Is this a good system spec?

4GB DDR2 Ram
Windows Vista Home premium 32bit Edition
Intel Pentium D CPU 2.80 Ghz
52.2GB Free of 107.9 GB storage (C:/)
Backup (D:/): 37.1GB free of 37.2GB
Onboard soundcard
nVidia 8500 GT 512MG Graphics card
AOL Broadband connection: Signal Strength: Excellent :Speed: 54Mbps

Dell Dimension E520
19 Inch Minitor

I brought it for
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
633
Reaction score
5
pentium d = crap
home premium = ok
thats a whole lotta space for backup and using only .1GB o_O
AOL is pointless
8500 = bad =/
4GB ram pointless as hell with a 512mb gfx card and a 32 bit os. the ram from the card is added to the total ram. so you have 4512mb and can only use 4gb

maybe worth ~$550 USD
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
123
Reaction score
0
While an 8500 can't play any of the top notch games, I put one in a little sister's computer; she can play Portal and Team Fortress 2 with all settings at medium, 1280x1024 resolution, with 45-to-60 frames per second. It isn't entirely bad, for the price.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
283
Reaction score
0
When I click my computer it ses I have 3GB Ram.. When I have 4.

And I can play Crysis (which is a system killing game) on High. With the slightest of jumps. Probablly the frames would be around the 12 to 15 mark. 19 at the highest.

Mh, how to use all 4GB.. ?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,060
Reaction score
1,573
4GB DDR2 Ram - Good but not for a 32x OS and not for a Pentium D
Windows Vista Home premium 32bit Edition - Would not recommend buy 32x OR home edition
Intel Pentium D CPU 2.80 Ghz - I am surprised it can run vista well, not a very good cpu
52.2GB Free of 107.9 GB storage (C:/)
Backup (D:/): 37.1GB free of 37.2GB
Onboard soundcard
nVidia 8500 GT 512MG Graphics card - another thing which bottlenecks your RAM while playing
AOL Broadband connection: Signal Strength: Excellent :Speed: 54Mbps - do not recommend using wireless on a desktop PC
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
Upgrade to core 2 duo and to 64 bit windows are ur good to go. Just cos his hasnt got a top line card dosnt meen his system is crap. Computers do other things aprt form games.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
283
Reaction score
0
I dont think my PC is crap. I mean, It is really fast.. Plus it can play some of the top spec games.

Flight Simulator X: Everything set above Ultra High (Custom)
Crysis: High - Very slight lag and jumping.

and AOL is pretty good, I mean, I have had no problems with it.

And the Windows Upgrade Advisor told me to upgrade to Windows Vista Home Premium :p - This was when I was running on 1GB Ram.
 
Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
3,137
Reaction score
496
I dont think my PC is crap. I mean, It is really fast.. Plus it can play some of the top spec games.

Flight Simulator X: Everything set above Ultra High (Custom)
Crysis: High - Very slight lag and jumping.

and AOL is pretty good, I mean, I have had no problems with it.

And the Windows Upgrade Advisor told me to upgrade to Windows Vista Home Premium :p - This was when I was running on 1GB Ram.

I can't believe that, especially since FSX runs in DX10 mode on Vista.
Your card can't handle ultra high spec.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
283
Reaction score
0
I can't believe that, especially since FSX runs in DX10 mode on Vista.
Your card can't handle ultra high spec.

Yes, it can. I believe the 8500GT is a powerful card. Even so, the 9 series is now out. But the card is DX10. And I am running it on Vista. (I was previouslly running it on XP, in 9.0c which is DX10 in XP). Correct me if I'm wrong.

FSX Offered an upgrade pack, before upgrading the game would lag/jump on Ultra high. But now the service pack has installed, it runs like the wind on Ultra High.

And from what I see, A pentium D is a crap processor. So I'll browse for some more. Anyone reccommend any? Obviouslly I'll check with my Manual before doing anything. And Processors are the most expensive components for a PC? Am I right?
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
If the computer is fast enough for you then it's a good computer for you, different people use computers in different ways and need hardware in different ways, some people have high end hard core stuff, some people just have basic stuff and think thats plenty.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
283
Reaction score
0
If the computer is fast enough for you then it's a good computer for you, different people use computers in different ways and need hardware in different ways, some people have high end hard core stuff, some people just have basic stuff and think thats plenty.

You are 100% right. What I use now, is suitible for what I do, apart from one minor thing. I'm going to upgrade to a 64bit OS. Hopefully that'll enable me to use all 4GB of RAM. Aswel as getting a better video card. I think my CPU is fine how it is.. FSX takes up around 30 to 50 CPU Usage at the most.

Crysis barely takes up 20. So I guess pentium d is "ok". I can play Multiplayer on both these games without any interuptions, and my ping is around 147 - so I wouldnt lag, or get dissconnection issues.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
0
TBH, there is no point posting is this computer good, as you will get different comments saying different things. In a way you answered it ur self lol. Oh well.
 
Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
2,547
Reaction score
192
you've been told this multiple times i thought i'd reiterate, there is no way you are playing in dx10 on ultra high no Ducking way on this planet.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
283
Reaction score
0
you've been told this multiple times i thought i'd reiterate, there is no way you are playing in dx10 on ultra high no Ducking way on this planet.
Dude the card is DX10. Look it up.. nVidia 8500GT 512MG. - Vista supports DX10. In order to play DX10 on a Dx10 Graphics card you need vista. Am I right..
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,060
Reaction score
1,573
What Ramuthra is saying is that it is almost impossible that an 8500GT can play ANY game on ultra high on DX9, even in XP, so doing so on DX10 on Vista is more than impossible.

You probably have it on a low resolution? I cannot imagine you playing anything on high with res higher than 800x600. Also i'm sure AA is off.
 
Back
Top