Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Ports to Forward

Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
ei im running my server on LAN... and tested to make it online...
with my router i forwarded the ports needed:

Ports:
38101
38121
38111

then, i asked my friend to test it... i gave him the wan ip address, then he successfully connected and entered the channel but after he created character he cant connect to the world?

do i still need to forward ports? kindly please help me... thank you...
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
185
Reaction score
5
yeah there are more ports that u need...search in the .ini files
 
Upvote 0
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
185
Reaction score
5
if he can connect and login it means the bridge works.Try fowording more ports.Check loginsvr ini's
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
yes he can login, ok sir i will try...

any tip what ports to forward... coz my router's NAT Rule Entry has a maximum of 25 entries...

i can't add all ports...
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
nope, IP of CENTOS sir...
im using Chumpy's Server repack...

[WorldSvr]
ServerIdx=24
GroupIdx=1
GlobalTimer=4:10000,5:5000,7:3600000,22:60000,8:2000
WorldTimer=1:100,2:150,3:3000,6:60000,8:2000,9:10000,14:2000,16:200,20:200,21:200
CommonIniPath=Common.ini
IPAddress=192.168.1.45
UpdateInterval=300000

will it work if i already forwarded the port 38111?
or i have to change my CentosIP to my Dynamic WAN IP?
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
I actually have the whole range (48101 - 48190, i use an alternate port range) forwarded to the server.

The most important addresses in the whole server config are IPAddress= and AddrForClient= in the worldsvr config. When a client connects to the login server it gets handed back 2 addresses for where the player needs to connect next, they are the address of the worldserver and the chatnode (IPAddress and AddrForClient respectively).

The problem with using a router is this. LAN players can't connect to the WAN IP and WAN players can't connect to the LAN IP. So which do you use for those 2 addresses as whichever you pick the other type of player won't be able to connect? This is the problem router owners face and i have yet to find a decent way around this that doesn't require dual network cards or something like that.

In your case LAN players are probably getting on fine as the server is giving them a LAN IP, but if you check your logs when a WAN player tries to connect you will see they are being handed a LAN IP and that is why they fail. Try putting the WAN IP in those 2 spots and they will be able to connect fine, but you try and the server will get very confused indeed.

In the past for other types of server i have normally used a hostname like a no-ip as it is fairly simple to make LAN clients return the LAN address and WAN people getting the WAN address but the server doesn't like you putting hostnames in the configs. I'm still experimenting with different things to find other ways of making it work that don't involve things like Hamachi though and as soon as i find something useful i will be posting it.
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
chumpywumpy

I use modem router. the only way to make players would come from outside the hamachi? or not as I do have a different config for modem router? thanks
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top