Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

[Question] Regarding custom items

Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
I look around these forums now and i found this thread..
I was wondering if this would be possible with "Blender"? becouse i dont have any skill with 3ds max
I especialy need an ase exporter :)

P.S. I cant just export my files from blender to 3ds max becouse the uv technique cant be done with 'max'
 
Last edited:
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
In earlier trys the weapon didnt show up and it had just the first animation..
las try it had the sword animation but still no weapon....
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
IT has a texture but its bigger than 512x512 :) thx
lets test

Yet again no luck..
this is what ive come to so far
UivvTWE - [Question] Regarding custom items - RaGEZONE Forums

_________________

After opening the .smd that came from the .ase it is clear why its not working..
The only line in the smd file is:

"SMD Model data Ver 0.62 , ì Ä -Ç ÿ ÍÌL?ÍÌL?ÍÌL? $ Image\sinImage\Items\DropItem\None "

What can i do now? i think the server cant convert the ase..
_________________

How can i see if the weapon has an animation?
 

Attachments

You must be registered for see attachments list
Last edited:
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
What 3Ds max version should i learn to use? becouse i know some wont work ans some will

_______

Nvm i found out 2010 will do :)
 
Last edited:
Over rock and under tree
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
568
Reaction score
347
I suppose that any version of 3ds would export to ase (but without the physique block..), and i thought that blender could do it even better.. i just took a look at blender, did not liked it tough, never really used it..

But you could post an image with the working sword =D
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
Its low poly and my first ever try out so ill see how it goes :)
____________

I will update this post with a picture later
____________

Added a .blend/.ase/.3ds and a texture in an attachment for those who are intrested. It would be apriciated if you could try to put the .ase and texture in a server and see how it will work out :)
 

Attachments

You must be registered for see attachments list
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
881
Reaction score
578
Well lets just look at your model compared to a spear.

Tuur - [Question] Regarding custom items - RaGEZONE Forums


I know they say size does not matter, but in this case it does.
Mate, sorry to be the one to tell you this. But you are too small :lol:

Also, the best thing to do if you want to use blender is to export as .OBJ
This format saves the UV map perfectly which can then be imported into 3DS Max.

Now lets take a look at your sword, re sized in game.

Tuur - [Question] Regarding custom items - RaGEZONE Forums


Perhaps I went a bit overboard on the resizing...

Tuur - [Question] Regarding custom items - RaGEZONE Forums



Download here:

I have provided you with
.ASE
.bmp
.max (3ds max file)
.obj (exported from blender)
.smd

Hope this helps ya
 
Custom Title Activated
Member
Joined
May 26, 2007
Messages
5,545
Reaction score
1,314
Blender certainly can be used, and I know people who have done so, and written guides on using it in PT. However, it is better for fields (maps) and weapons, because neither of it's most popular output plugins (there are two well supported plugins from different sources, and many variants from the source of those) for ASE don't support animation, and I'm told that the internals of it's animation are completely different, leading to very little similarity to allow for "conversion". (it was described as being like converting an MP3 to a Bitmap... which would sound the same when viewed??? Doesn't make any sense, right?)
I'm not convinced they can't be converted, but I do recognise distinct differences and acknowledge that I don't understand how either method really works.

Max works on BiPed animations, where Blender works on Key Frame animation. Max has bounding boxes where Blender works on "bones". Max has a frame-rate, and dupe-frames for pauses, where Blender has pivot trajectory changes at freely timed points. (so frame rate at playback can be what-ever you set it too, each motion change at each pivot can start or stop at any time, even if there is no "frame" at that point etc.)
I believe that a greater problem exists with the fact that both output ASE, as defined by the Discreet 3D Studio documentation, but that PT is more limited in it's vocabulary. So it expects the ASE to be the way Max outputs it, not just within the parameters Max will accept as input, and if you have to load it in Max and re-export as ASE from there, you may as well use a Lightwave or DirectX .obj file, or a .FBX. (which do support animation, and are far more complete formats in many other respects)
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
Quick note:

"Polygon-index error" with OBJ export (solved)
I couldn't find any clear answer on what the "polygon-index error" in Max actually means, so I decided to make a thread for archive purposes. I found other threads (in other forums) with the same error, but not any way to get rid of it... Hopefully it will spare someone from frustration and confusion in the future.


I tried importing a Blender-made mesh into 3DS Max 2010. I exported it as Wavefront OBJ, and tried to import it just as I had imported every other model from the scene... and got a mysterious "Polygon-index error".

The problem was that I had a bunch of vertices in a line, and the vertices on the ends were connected not only to the vertex next in line, but to each other.

Code:
Code:
1  2  3  4
So 1-2, 2-3, 3-4 AND 1-4. After I removed the long, unnecessary edge and exported again, Max could open it just fine. So basically, specific types of geometry don't work well with OBJ. I've imported dozens of objects without any problems, and so far it hasn't come up with anything I've done on purpose, but the meshes have been rather simple.

If you have this problem with a complex object, you could try exporting the object in pieces and seeing which one causes the error.

Credits to Endoperez for the solution..

I just wanted to post this for any futur modelers.. that have this problem.. (like me)
______________________________________________

Edit1: IF you have edges that aren't needed should also be removed.

Take this example:

The red lines in the second picture should also be romoved.
hZ15SAc - [Question] Regarding custom items - RaGEZONE Forums
 

Attachments

You must be registered for see attachments list
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
881
Reaction score
578
Nice trouble shooting there.
Big props for tell us how you went about solving the problem. (And giving credit where due) :thumbup1:

Hope to see some of your works of PT art in the future.
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
I will make a guide on how to make inventory images in blender later
________________

Update:
I can only suggest using 3ds max then.
About the ase exporter i used..
Its the only working one out there for the newer versions of Blender..
I exported my weapon as ase twice. One on 3ds Max and one on Blender..
There are some minor differends in the files it exports. i compared them and ther were minor errors..

You probably can see some differents..

itWS231.ASE -Export 3Ds Max 2010
*3DSMAX_ASCIIEXPORT 200
*COMMENT "AsciiExport Version 2,00 - Sat Feb 16 01:53:56 2013"
*SCENE {
*SCENE_FILENAME ""
*SCENE_FIRSTFRAME 0
*SCENE_LASTFRAME 100
*SCENE_FRAMESPEED 30
*SCENE_TICKSPERFRAME 160
*SCENE_BACKGROUND_STATIC 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*SCENE_AMBIENT_STATIC 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
}
*MATERIAL_LIST {
*MATERIAL_COUNT 1
*MATERIAL 0 {
*MATERIAL_NAME "None"
*MATERIAL_CLASS "Standard"
*MATERIAL_AMBIENT 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*MATERIAL_DIFFUSE 0.8000 0.8000 0.8000
*MATERIAL_SPECULAR 0.8000 0.8000 0.8000
*MATERIAL_SHINE 0.0000
*MATERIAL_SHINESTRENGTH 1.0000
*MATERIAL_TRANSPARENCY 0.0000
*MATERIAL_WIRESIZE 1.0000
*MATERIAL_SHADING Blinn
*MATERIAL_XP_FALLOFF 0.0000
*MATERIAL_SELFILLUM 0.0000
*MATERIAL_FALLOFF In
*MATERIAL_XP_TYPE Filter
*MAP_DIFFUSE {
*MAP_NAME "Map #6"
*MAP_CLASS "Bitmap"
*MAP_SUBNO 1
*MAP_AMOUNT 1.0000
*BITMAP "C:\Program Files (x86)\Models\1.Blender\Weapons\In progres\BigSword2\itWS231.bmp"
*MAP_TYPE Screen
*UVW_U_OFFSET 0.0000
*UVW_V_OFFSET 0.0000
*UVW_U_TILING 1.0000
*UVW_V_TILING 1.0000
*UVW_ANGLE 0.0000
*UVW_BLUR 1.0000
*UVW_BLUR_OFFSET 0.0000
*UVW_NOUSE_AMT 1.0000
*UVW_NOISE_SIZE 1.0000
*UVW_NOISE_LEVEL 1
*UVW_NOISE_PHASE 0.0000
*BITMAP_FILTER Pyramidal
}
}
}
*GEOMOBJECT {
*NODE_NAME "default"
*NODE_TM {
*NODE_NAME "default"
*INHERIT_POS 0 0 0
*INHERIT_ROT 0 0 0
*INHERIT_SCL 0 0 0
*TM_ROW0 1.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROW1 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROW2 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
*TM_ROW3 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_POS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROTAXIS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROTANGLE 0.0000
*TM_SCALE 1.0000 1.0000 1.0000
*TM_SCALEAXIS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_SCALEAXISANG 0.0000
}

itWS231.ASE -Export Blender 2.65
*3DSMAX_ASCIIEXPORT 200
*COMMENT "Ascii Scene Exporter v2.51"
*SCENE {
*SCENE_FILENAME "C:\Program Files (x86)\Models\1.Blender\Weapons\In progres\BigSword2\Blend\itWS231.blend"
*SCENE_FIRSTFRAME 0
*SCENE_LASTFRAME 100
*SCENE_FRAMESPEED 30
*SCENE_TICKSPERFxRAME 160
*SCENE_BACKGROUND_STATIC 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*SCENE_AMBIENT_STATIC 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
}
*MATERIAL_LIST {
*MATERIAL_COUNT 1
*MATERIAL 0 {
*MATERIAL_NAME "Material"
*MATERIAL_CLASS "Standard"
*MATERIAL_AMBIENT 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*MATERIAL_DIFFUSE 0.8000 0.8000 0.8000
*MATERIAL_SPECULAR 1.0000 1.0000 1.0000
*MATERIAL_SHINE 0.0978
*MATERIAL_SHINESTRENGTH 0.5000
*MATERIAL_TRANSPARENCY 0.0000
*MATERIAL_WIRESIZE 1.0000
*MATERIAL_SHADING Cooktorr
*MATERIAL_XP_FALLOFF 0.0000
*MATERIAL_SELFILLUM 0.0000
*MATERIAL_FALLOFF In
*MATERIAL_XP_TYPE Filter
*MAP_DIFFUSE {
*MAP_NAME "default"
*MAP_CLASS "Bitmap"
*MAP_SUBNO 1
*MAP_AMOUNT 1.0000
*BITMAP "None"
*MAP_TYPE Screen
*UVW_U_OFFSET 0.0000
*UVW_V_OFFSET 0.0000
*UVW_U_TILING 1.0000
*UVW_V_TILING 1.0000
*UVW_ANGLE 0.0000
*UVW_BLUR 1.0000
*UVW_BLUR_OFFSET 0.0000
*UVW_NOUSE_AMT 1.0000
*UVW_NOISE_SIZE 1.0000
*UVW_NOISE_LEVEL 1
*UVW_NOISE_PHASE 0.0000
*BITMAP_FILTER Pyramidal
}
*NUMSUBMTLS 0
}
*GEOMOBJECT {
*NODE_NAME "Cube.001"
*NODE_TM {
*NODE_NAME "Cube.001"
*INHERIT_POS 0 0 0
*INHERIT_ROT 0 0 0
*INHERIT_SCL 0 0 0
*TM_ROW0 1.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROW1 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROW2 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
*TM_ROW3 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_POS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROTAXIS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_ROTANGLE 0.0000
*TM_SCALE 1.0000 1.0000 1.0000
*TM_SCALEAXIS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
*TM_SCALEAXISANG 0.0000
}
____________________

Worked on this a long time and the critical line in the file is:
"*NUMSUBMTLS 0" = "}"

Since i cleared this out i will make a tutorial for blender, inventory and model+ texture.. :)
 
Last edited:
Over rock and under tree
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
568
Reaction score
347
I liked the sword, very nice one.. I would like to know how you composed the texture for it.. :)
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
I did this one nooby..
i took picture from "the internet" modeled my sword using it in the background, uv unwrap,
to screaming: "from front view xD"
take the same picture as background and place it in the right position..
 
Back
Top