Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Web [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Alrighty now. Well this is a guide for ChroCore, a C# emulator of MapleStory. More info from the release thread. http://forum.ragezone.com/showthread.php?t=459823. Now for the guide.

ChroCore has stopped its development, but the SVN still works. So this guide should still be effective

Preparation
Step 1
First of all, we'll need to download the necessary files to run ChroCore. And these are:


(Choose the one that matches your computer OS, then choose the "Windows Essentials (x86)" download)


(Choose the "Windows Essentials (x86)" download, then click "No thanks, just take me to the downloads!", then choose the mirror closest to you)


(Click the "Download" button)


(Direct link)


(Download from the green box that looks like this)
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums

(note: the .NET framework will be automatically installed if you don't have it)


(Direct Link)

Step 2
Now to start installing these programs!

1) Let's start with MySQL, since that's a pretty big part for ChroCore. From the downloaded MySQL Server, start the installer up. You should then get to a window like this.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Choose "Typical" or "Complete" if you are unsure of the options. I find "Typical" and "Complete" to be alike, besides the fact "Complete" takes more space. But I do recommend you to choose Complete. Now after clicking the dot next to the one you want, click "Next >". Now click the "Install" button. Let the installer install MySQL Server onto your comp. May take a few minutes. After it's done installing, you'll get to this screen.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Make sure "Configure the MySQL Server now" box is checked. Then click "Finish". The MySQL Server Instance Configuration should popup now, which looks like this.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


If these options are unknown to you, I suggest you to choose "Standard Configuration". For more advanced users, you can choose "Detailed Configuration". After choosing the one you want, click "Next >". You should reach this window now.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


I recommend to check all the boxes. If you don't know anything here, do the above and click "Next >". You'll come to this window.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


You can leave this these unchecked if you don't think you need a password(recommended). But if you do leave "Modify Security Settings" checked, in the boxes write down the password you wish to use. You can also check "Enable root access from remote machines", but that means if someone somehow gets access to the root account you're making, they can do ANYTHING to your MySQL settings/databases. So it isn't recommended. After you're done with everything, click on "Next >". It should start applying the settings and starting the MySQL service. After it's done, it should show this screen.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Now we're set with the MySQL installation. Wow that was long huh? Well onward to the next part! Shouldn't be as long as this.

2) The MySQL GUI tools are pretty simple to install. Just open up the installer. And click the "Next" until you reach the end.

3) The MySQL Dependencies are an important part for ChroCore. If it wasn't there, no one could connect to their account info and other stuff. Extract the ZIP file, run "MySql.Data.msi" and install it. Doesn't matter where you install it.

4) Next is the .NET Framework. It's a pretty simple download/install. Just download it from the link I gave way above. Then open the installer. This will then download/install .NET Framework. It may take a while. So just wait it out.

5) Then is Visual C# Studio. This is to edit the whole source with. A very big essential. After downloading the setup file, open it. You should get something like this.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


This may take a while, so wait it out.

6) SVN Tortoise is to keep your source updated and to download the server. This is also a Next, Next, etc, Finish install. Should be pretty self-explanatory.

Now we're set for the prepartation part. Now onward to the actual ChroCore! I suggest you restart your computer so all of the programs are functioning correctly.



[/CENTER]
 
Last edited:
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Setting Up
Step 1
Now that we've got everything prepared, we'll be starting to setup the server! Now create a folder anywhere on your computer, I chose in C:\ and named it ChroCore. Now this is where TortoiseSVN comes in. Go into the ChroCore folder and right click any blank spot. Then you'll see something like "SVN Checkout". Click it like below.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Now we get to this window. Make sure yours looks like the one in this following window. Then click "Ok". In the "URL of repository" box you should have this following link:
Code:
http://svn.assembla.com/svn/chromsdev
After a minute or 2 depending on your internet connection, you should be left with this window.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Now you have successfully downloaded the server files! Now what happens when there's an updated for ChroCore? That's when we use the updated feature! Right click a blank spot in the ChroCore folder and there should be a menu link called "SVN Update". Click it and it should updaetd to the latest version.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums

Now to compile the server.

Compiling Server
Step 1
Open the project files (src/MapleStory.sln) and press "F6". If you get an error, go to Step 2. Else, jump to the Settings section


Step 2
If you happen to be getting some errors still, there's a bit of a reference error. In the "GameServer" project, right click "MySql.Data" in the "References" folder. Now delete it. Now we need to re-add it again. Right click the "References" folder and click on "Add Reference...". This window should popup.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Now go to the ".NET" tab and click on "MySql.Data" then click on Ok. Do this with the "LoginServer" project also. Now on the top toolbar, there should be something named "Build". Click it and then click on "Build Solution". A shortcut key is "F6". It should start building the server, and the outcome should be at the root of your ChroCore folder. But we're not finished yet!

Settings
Step 1
Now we must edit settings so people and you can connect to the server. The main settings are in "App.config" in the source(Under "GameServer" and "LoginServer". Now here's what the settings mean in there. Make sure the MySQL part is set correctly!

GameServer App.config
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


LoginServer App.config
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Now after setting those settings, we need to change your world settings! If you don't, no one will be able to login. Go into your "World" folder. Then edit the .xml files inside. Here's some info about it.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


If you want to add more worlds, just copy and paste a .xml file in there, and change it to the next incrementing number. Such as last one was 1.xml. Copy and paste, name 2.xml. Also change the World Name, ID, and MySQL database in the .xml you made. Duplicate the jlms database as required. (For a 3rd world, duplicate it and name it jlms3, and so on)

Setting up the Database
Step 1
Now we need to make the database. Go to your Start Menu and look for the folder MySQL in All Programs. In that folder click on "MySQL Query Browser". Login with your details(username, password. Username is root, password is what you set it to. If you didn't set, leave blank.)
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Now once inside, it should look like this.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Step 2
Ignore my other schemas. You should probably have 2-3 if you started fresh. Now in the top left corner click on "File", then click on "Open Script...". Direct yourself into the sql folder. Then FIRST apply "CRDB.sql". Now run the other .sql files. Make sure they are both ran in both jlms and jlms2. Double click the schema to choose that schema. Now you are practically set!

Step 3
Now you probably want to create an account, huh? Well in the jlms schema, double click the "accounts" table 2 times to open it. Now you need to fill in some details. Press the "Edit" button near the bottom of the page. Then is the "accountID". Just put that as 1 for now. Username, set as whatever username you want. Password, set as any password you want. No encryption for it right now. In the "isgm" column, put 1 in it if you want the account to be a GM, or 0 if you don't want it to be. Put 0 for "isbanned". Put "0000" for PIN right now if you didn't enable pin. if you did, change it any 4 numbers you want. For birthday, it will be in this format, year,month,day. It has to be 8 characters long, so no hypens(-). An example of mine, 19940315. Example picture.
Yobaz - [Tut] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures) - RaGEZONE Forums


Seems to be it right now. So now just get a v59 localhost, put it in your MapleStory folder(which should be v59) and start the game! There's a good amount of "How to get your game online" guides in the Guides section. Look around.

Inputing VEDB
Info here: . This topic HAS THE DOWNLOAD FOR VEDB. So check that link. After that follow Step 1.

Step 1
First extract the .zip file. Just make sure to remember it. This is basically like running the other .sql files in the sql folder(if you did.) Just click on File, top left corner of MySQL Query Browser, then click on "Open Script...". Search for vedb.sql in the "public" folder you extracted. Now, make a new database named 'vedb'.
Then execute the script into the database 'vedb'.
 
Last edited:
Master Summoner
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
524
Reaction score
1
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Nice guide! Should be helpful to those who wants to use ChroCore.
 
Master Summoner
Loyal Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
584
Reaction score
1
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Nice guide :)
___________
I Can See The Light
 
Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,125
Reaction score
330
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Great guide, and it's revision 86 now.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
625
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Might want to add how to get from svn to this guide
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Hm. Wow. I thought I did that. Thanks for telling me. Will be adding now.

Edit: Nvm. It is in there already =P.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
625
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Oh, i didn't see that, only saw the first post
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Yobaz: Post this on our forums if you don't mind? Or I will if you can't. And thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed guide. o.o
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Hm. Which section should I put it in? Doesn't seem to be a guides section. Support section maybe?
 
Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,125
Reaction score
330
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Support Section would sound right.
Put it in the Main Support Forum for now.
I'll make a guides sub-forum later.
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Updated to AngelSL's modifications.
 
Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,125
Reaction score
330
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

You might want to edit it to fit the new standards of ChroCore.
We now use App.config instead of XML.
Much faster.
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Changed settings.ini part to App.config.
 
Senior
Loyal Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
1,873
Reaction score
42
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Good job! I Still prefer Java over all though =x

i may like this in the future when im advanced in c#

xP
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

Nice, easy guide...

But the developing has stopped, ChroCore.net is closed, the svn works although. But i can't do the last step. Should be very, very nice if you can post the script-content here...
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
65
Reaction score
3
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

good guide
 
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

If you're talking about the VEDB part, I've updated the link. If I'm not allowed to link to Vana, I'll take it down.
 
Initiate Mage
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Re: [Guide] Setting Up ChroCore (With Pictures)

If you're talking about the VEDB part, I've updated the link. If I'm not allowed to link to Vana, I'll take it down.
Thanks... waiting for aproval now, can't see the topic without registring.

Maybe you can change the link-text to, the text stil says chrocore.net.

Edit: got the VEDB.SQL from someone else.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top