Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Understanding the Source of MoopleDev v83

Initiate Mage
Reaction score
I have always wanted to understand the source files for a MS private server purely for educational purposes. I have been programming in Java in school for a few years so this source is a great one to understand. These questions are meant for kevintjuh93 about MoopleDev v83 Rev 119 (I think it’s Rev 119) but if anyone wants to help, feel free.

Firstly, some notes about this thread. When I ask to explain a class or method, I really want someone to fully explain every line of code within that class/method. The easiest way for this to be done is probably to use the spoiler message when posting in this thread. You can use spoiler to show the code and your comments. I will edit this first post marking off things I understand and things I don’t.

I won't ask any SkillFactory/MapleItemInformationProvider/CashItemFactory questions for now as I want to see how this goes :p

Legend: Green means I don't need help anymore, anything else means I still need help.

Here are the questions:

In net.server.Server, for acceptor.getFilterChain().addLast("codec", (IoFilter) new ProtocolCodecFilter(new MapleCodecFactory())); Why are you calling specifically addLast to the filter chain? Why aren’t you saying addBefore/addAfter/addFirst?

For MaplePacketEncoder and MaplePacketDecoder, when is the encode method called and when is the doDecode method called?