Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

My Linked server in sql not work

Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
229
Reaction score
18
Hello,

When i go to New Linked Server and -> Provider: Microsoft OLE DB provider for ODBC DRIVERS and on "Provider string" there i cant do nothing i cant write a text.. how to fix that.. please help i am with sql 2005
 
Skilled Illusionist
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
319
Reaction score
10
im too but im on sql 2k.
i was try add linked server on query but doesn't work.
any have idea to solve this?

DWBaHu0 - My Linked server in sql not work - RaGEZONE Forums



DWBaHu0 - My Linked server in sql not work - RaGEZONE Forums
 

Attachments

You must be registered for see attachments list
Upvote 0
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
765
Reaction score
5
use this provider string, and replace the "123456" with your mssql sa password.
Code:
DRIVER={SQL Server};SERVER=localhost;UID=sa;PWD=123456;
This works for sql 2000 and sql 2005
 
Upvote 0
Master Summoner
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
582
Reaction score
12
i think its not really necessary to use the uid=sa;pwd=12345 if ur using 2k5 +!
 
Upvote 0
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
765
Reaction score
5
i think its not really necessary to use the uid=sa;pwd=12345 if ur using 2k5 +!

it doesn't matter at all what you think - because for all we know you may be a total moron.
try
Code:
DRIVER={SQL Server};SERVER=localhost;UID=sa;PWD=123456;
and reply to say if it worked or if it didn't.
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
Code:
DRIVER={SQL Server};SERVER=127.0.0.1;UID=;PWD=;

Replace 127.0.0.1 with the windows ip as using "localhost" won't work usually. The user and pass can be specified there but it can be left out as the server gets these from the server config files and specifies then in the DSN used to connect. I prefer to leave them out of the connection string.

Once you have added a linked server you can't edit it and you must delete it and recreate it from scratch.
 
Upvote 0
Initiate Mage
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I tried ALL possibilities and none worked for me. localhost with and without sa pass in the provider string, 127.0.0.1, the real ip, the server name, etc. Every single time I received "Unknown DB" errors.

Finally, what worked for me was "Be made using this security context" in the security tab. sa user and password for the "Remote Login" and "With password" fields.

MSSQL 2005. Dont ask me why but nothing else worked for me but that. Hope that helps.
 
Upvote 0
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
229
Reaction score
18
in game when i try to create a character i have error: DB ERROR (just that)

but my providers.. notwork are.. "CLOSED" are somethings like that.. anyone know how to uninstall sql and i will install it again.. maybe will fix that Ducking problem :(
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
in game when i try to create a character i have error: DB ERROR (just that)

but my providers.. notwork are.. "CLOSED" are somethings like that.. anyone know how to uninstall sql and i will install it again.. maybe will fix that Ducking problem :(
That will probably be the linked server but you will need to check the logs to be absolutely sure. To uninstall just use the add/remove option in your control panel.
 
Upvote 0
Skilled Illusionist
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
319
Reaction score
10
has i make a ODBC too?
Oh Yeah Sir Chumpy can u make a video how to fix it?
i think a video very helpfull.
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
i used this in mssql2005
make a new query window, paste this:

EXEC sp_addlinkedserver GAMESERVER

and Execute to the master table, it's worked for me
 
Upvote 0
Custom Title Activated
Loyal Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2004
Messages
1,378
Reaction score
50
easy...

if ur using 2005 sql

use
1. SQL native
2. test it like this

in sql query

use gamedb;
select * from GAMESERVER.account.dbo.cabal_auth_table

if the query is successful.. ur LInk server is working. simple as that.
 
Upvote 0
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
229
Reaction score
18
i fix this problem with linked server.. i reinstalling the windows.. but now i have other problem..
i have log error:
[##ERROR##] DB ERROR(MSG) : [unixODBC][FreeTDS][SQL Server]Cannot open database "GAMEDB" requested by the login. The login failed.
[##ERROR##] DB ERROR(CODE) : 4060
[##ERROR##] DB ERROR(VAR_INFO) :
[##ERROR##] DB ERROR(SQLSTATE) : 42000
[##ERROR##] DB ERROR(STM_TEXT) :
[##ERROR##] Database Connect Fail (uid=;pwd=;dsn=CabalGame24;APP=DBAgent_24)
[##ERROR##] check 'pDB' fail
[##ERROR##] 'OnIPCIWarGetLastNationRewardWarResults' fail (Database/InstantWar.cpp:140)
[##ERROR##] UsrMap Fail : MainCmd(600) Ret(8C:0:140) Addr(192.168.1.5)[/CODE]

and in game i have :
Cannot proceed with the command due to unknown DB errors. Please try again.

Can fix that ?
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
[##ERROR##] Database Connect Fail (uid=;pwd=;dsn=CabalGame24;APP=DBAgent_24)
so you are not configured the DBAgent
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top