• Unfortunately, we have experienced significant hard drive damage that requires urgent maintenance and rebuilding. The forum will be a state of read only until we install our new drives and rebuild all the configurations needed. Please follow our Facebook page for updates, we will be back up shortly! (The forum could go offline at any given time due to the nature of the failed drives whilst awaiting the upgrades.) When you see an Incapsula error, you know we are in the process of migration.

Sockets & Packets

Skilled Illusionist
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm having a bit of trouble working with sockets and TCP connections with C#. The idea is this:

1. Server is listening for clients
2. Client requests connection, connection is accepted.
3. Client sends first packet (let's call that the hello packet)
4. Server sends a reply back to acknowledge the client
5. Server waits for a reply from client and writes the reply to the console.

I'm quite new to sockets in C#, however I really want to get into it. So far, I have everything working fine, apart from the fact, that I don't know how to send a second packet. If I repeat steps 3 and 4, the code eventually throws an error about not being able to read data from the transport connection.

I have a slight feeling that something needs to be cleared or something similar, but I don't know what it is.

If it helps, this server is accepting connections from a Habbo client.

This is code I have so far:
Code:
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;

using System.Net;
using System.Net.Sockets;

namespace Gingerbread
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            Console.Title = "Hello! Gingerbread";

TcpListener server = null;
            try
            {
                IPAddress address = IPAddress.Parse("127.0.0.1");
                int port = 1337;

server = new TcpListener(address, port);
                server.Start();