• Unfortunately, we have experienced significant hard drive damage that requires urgent maintenance and rebuilding. The forum will be a state of read only until we install our new drives and rebuild all the configurations needed. Please follow our Facebook page for updates, we will be back up shortly! (The forum could go offline at any given time due to the nature of the failed drives whilst awaiting the upgrades.) When you see an Incapsula error, you know we are in the process of migration.

Unlocking Old Quests

Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
284
Reaction score
53
Source: ThePack II

My whole mission here is to get all of the old GMS quests working again without having to rewrite everything (like I just had to do with Roger's Apple).

In v62's training camp, there are a bunch of quests that require you to have the Wizet Plain Suit item in order to be able to even view the lightbulb. These are the PERFECT QUESTS, they work perfectly, have perfect text, and are exactly the same as they were in GMS v62.

Take a look at this block of code for the quest "What Sen wants to eat" in wz/Quest.wz/Check.img.xml
PHP:
<imgdir name="1003"> //QUEST ID
        <imgdir name="1">
            <int name="npc" value="2001"/> //SEN
        </imgdir>
        <imgdir name="0">
            <int name="npc" value="2102"/> //NINA
            <imgdir name="job">
                <int name="0" value="0"/>
            </imgdir>
            <imgdir name="item">
                <imgdir name="0">
                    <int name="id" value="1042003"/> //WIZET PLAIN SUIT
                    <int name="count" value="1"/>
                </imgdir>
            </imgdir>
        </imgdir>
    </imgdir>
I'm assuming that editing anything in these XML files won't do a damn thing...I changed the Wizet Plain Suit ID to something else but it didn't make any difference. So does this mean that I have to go into the actual .WZ files and alter stuff inside there?


Also, if I do have to rewrite everything like I had to do with Roger's Apple, I'm not exactly sure how to do it.

Here is the block of code for "Roger's Apple" inside Check.img.xml
PHP:
<imgdir name="1021"> //QUEST ID
        <imgdir name="0">
            <int name="npc" value="2000"/> //ROGER'S ID
            <string name="startscript" value="q1021s"/> //.JS SCRIPT FILENAME?
            <imgdir name="job">
                <int name="0" value="0"/>
            </imgdir>
        </imgdir>
        <imgdir name="1">
            <int name="npc" value="2000"/> //ROGER'S ID
            <string name="endscript" value="q1021e"/> //.JS SCRIPT FILENAME?
            <imgdir name="item">
                <imgdir name="0">
                    <int name="id" value="2010007"/> //Roger's Apple Item ID
                    <int name="count" value="0"/>
                </imgdir>
            </imgdir>
        </imgdir>
    </imgdir>
I wish I could edit stuff and have it apply inside this XML file, but I guess that I can't do that. If I'm gonna rewrite a quest, would I make it similar to this? I need some help here, thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
4,087
Reaction score
1,264
My best guess would be that Nexon has made this to prevent people from exploiting when (somehow) being in that map. That's why they added this lock. You won't be able to change it unless you edit WZ files, I fear. What you can do, is equip your new comers with a Wizet Plain Suit (with no stats at all) and guide them not to remove it, and then, on "addPlayer" in MapleMap, check if the map doesn't equal to one of the camp's map. If it doesn't, check if the player has the item. If they do, remove the item (Add a GM Check as well).

That would be the most logical way to do it.. or edit WZ files. Or, simply don't use that map.
 
Upvote 0
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
284
Reaction score
53
My best guess would be that Nexon has made this to prevent people from exploiting when (somehow) being in that map. That's why they added this lock. You won't be able to change it unless you edit WZ files, I fear. What you can do, is equip your new comers with a Wizet Plain Suit (with no stats at all) and guide them not to remove it, and then, on "addPlayer" in MapleMap, check if the map doesn't equal to one of the camp's map. If it doesn't, check if the player has the item. If they do, remove the item (Add a GM Check as well).

That would be the most logical way to do it.. or edit WZ files. Or, simply don't use that map.

Yeah, unfortunately it looks like I have to do that. I'm going to remove the lock in Quest.wz, the actual wz file and just require my players to download it when the launcher detects its not the same.

Oh, how perfect it would be if I didn't have to do it this way haha.


- now Free
 
Upvote 0
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
4,087
Reaction score
1,264
Yeah, unfortunately it looks like I have to do that. I'm going to remove the lock in Quest.wz, the actual wz file and just require my players to download it when the launcher detects its not the same.

Oh, how perfect it would be if I didn't have to do it this way haha.


- now Free

Or simply just code the quests and find them in repacks. I'm pretty sure you'll find all of them. They are like 5-10 max, that's not much.
 
Upvote 0
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
May 30, 2013
Messages
126
Reaction score
13
Are you sure that editing via the XML files isn't making any difference? I've fixed lot of quest in MoopleDev by editing via the XML files. Have you tried restarting the server after the edits?
 
Upvote 0
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
284
Reaction score
53
Are you sure that editing via the XML files isn't making any difference? I've fixed lot of quest in MoopleDev by editing via the XML files. Have you tried restarting the server after the edits?

Yeah, I changed around some stuff but it still didn't make a difference whatsoever. What have you edited that worked? If you could point out exactly what you changed, it would be appreciated so I can try it.
 
Upvote 0
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
May 30, 2013
Messages
126
Reaction score
13
Yeah, I changed around some stuff but it still didn't make a difference whatsoever. What have you edited that worked? If you could point out exactly what you changed, it would be appreciated so I can try it.

The example I can give you is the Green Mushroom from Sleepywood. The quest is to kill 99 Green Mushroom but the count didn't go up when you kill them. After my investigation, I found out that inside the Check.xml (or Act.xml - I forgot which one and I'm not home now so I can't check), the mob value in the XML file wasn't the right one. So after changing it into the Green Mushroom ID, and restarting, everything worked fine :)
 
Upvote 0
Supreme Arcanarch
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
946
Reaction score
329
My best guess would be that Nexon has made this to prevent people from exploiting when (somehow) being in that map. That's why they added this lock. You won't be able to change it unless you edit WZ files, I fear. What you can do, is equip your new comers with a Wizet Plain Suit (with no stats at all) and guide them not to remove it, and then, on "addPlayer" in MapleMap, check if the map doesn't equal to one of the camp's map. If it doesn't, check if the player has the item. If they do, remove the item (Add a GM Check as well).

That would be the most logical way to do it.. or edit WZ files. Or, simply don't use that map.

Orrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr block the option to remove the item in source.
 
Upvote 0
Nae-un <33
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
554
Reaction score
70
Or simply just code the quests and find them in repacks. I'm pretty sure you'll find all of them. They are like 5-10 max, that's not much.

How do you "code" the quests. I've always tried to go into the quest folder and write up a script but it never works out. Is there something I'm missing?
 
Upvote 0
Supreme Arcanarch
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
946
Reaction score
329
How do you "code" the quests. I've always tried to go into the quest folder and write up a script but it never works out. Is there something I'm missing?

Not all quests are codable. If you press on a quest when you talk to npc and nothing happens then it's codable.
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top