Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

overclocking?

Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
since evga is rmaing my card (finallly)

i am looking at overcocking my CPU

i have a amd sempron 2800+ palmero
it runs at 1600
i had it at 3.2 but it evetnally got unstable
so whats a good speed to set it at with stock cooling
i do have in my case
cable sleeves
2 120 mm fans 1 chipset fan and the cpu fan
and my psu fans
and 4 hdds 5 soon to be
2 add in card
1 gpu(agp)

so again a good speed to set it at is????? i was thinikn 1900 mhz
ohh my board is the epox 8kda3j
 
Custom Title Activated
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Messages
1,315
Reaction score
0
Go read an overclocking basics guide if you think anybody can give you a set speed to overclock to. Each batch of processors are slightly different and can be overclocked only so far. You have to do trial and error yourself by slowly incrementing the FSB and testing for stability and repeating, its a long process and there is no shortcuts
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
wich is better lower FSB or higher
and lower multiplier or higher?
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
my multiplier is 8X ill find a guide
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
9,759
Reaction score
77
since evga is rmaing my card (finallly)

i am looking at overcocking my CPU

i have a amd sempron 2800+ palmero
it runs at 1600
i had it at 3.2 but it evetnally got unstable
so whats a good speed to set it at with stock cooling
i do have in my case
cable sleeves
2 120 mm fans 1 chipset fan and the cpu fan
and my psu fans
and 4 hdds 5 soon to be
2 add in card
1 gpu(agp)

so again a good speed to set it at is????? i was thinikn 1900 mhz
ohh my board is the epox 8kda3j

Lol.... 3.2ghz... No socket A, 754, and most 939 cannot get that.

Hell most wont boot past 2.8ghz since their FSB will be to much.

For good speed on stock cooling. Probably 2.2ghz.

And there is an overclocking thread. Read the bloody stickies!

Go read an overclocking basics guide if you think anybody can give you a set speed to overclock to. Each batch of processors are slightly different and can be overclocked only so far. You have to do trial and error yourself by slowly incrementing the FSB and testing for stability and repeating, its a long process and there is no shortcuts

There is a range where most CPU's can go and that's where you should start.

wich is better lower FSB or higher
and lower multiplier or higher?

It's: Speed = FSB x Multiplier

So what you think?

Set your multi to max and then up the fsb to the max speed. Then latter on you can start tweeking and finding how high the fsb will go and then you can drop the multi to get higher fsb.


higher FSB.

youll want to use a 10x multi.

His CPU is probably 8x multi with a 200mhz FSB. And multi's are locked going up unless they are the FX or Extream versions.

my multiplier is 8X ill find a guide

Read the bloody stickies. There's a guide in one of them. -.-

NoPeace - out
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
:eek:

Try 2.4. I'm pretty sure it'll be stable if it was borderline at 3.2.

3.2 is high for a sempron
if someone on HoH forum can get it to go 2.4 with 3 pins missing i can get it to that!!!
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
9,759
Reaction score
77
3.2 is high for a sempron
if someone on HoH forum can get it to go 2.4 with 3 pins missing i can get it to that!!!

Missing pins don't matter. YOu can put paper clips into the socket to replace the missing pins.

And 3.2 is high for a shempron. Well to the point where it's not physically possible with your skill level. And I take it if you did that then you are using windows based methods of OCing and not via the BIOS.

A 400mhz FSB isn't possible on an AMD board without insine mods. And even then that's really pushing it.

Also what type of RAM do you have? That's going to be a major factor in stablility and speed.

IF you have crap RAM don't expect to go up to even 2ghz.

Also, looking at it again. You don't even have an overclocking motherboard. You'll probably make 220mhz FSB if you are lucky.

So 220 x 8 = 1760mhz

If you can manage tweeking your memory and adjust the proper voltages you might get to the 1900mhz range.

I really doubt your motherboard can push out the 250mhz FSB in order to reach the 2ghz mark. 250mhz is what you are looking at thoes expensive high end overclocking boards and not the cheap epox boards.

So realistically. You should hit about 220 (if your RAM can). Any higher is luck. And to hit the 240 range you'll need some good memory tweeking skills and know how to up voltages properly.

ALso make sure you have you HT multiplier set to 4x and not 5x. Your HT can't be over 1000ghz! To find your HT it's HT multi x FSB. So when you start to OC you need to drop your HT multi to 4x until you hit the 250fsb range and then drop it down to 3x. This is a must do step as your CPU memory controller can only work at that speed.

NoPeace - out
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
ight man that sounds good i have 2gb of corsair twin pc3200 ram
and my board has in overclocking feature in the bios all epoxs do
Nf3-nf4 i read is the best for overclocking semprons in
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
9,759
Reaction score
77
ight man that sounds good i have 2gb of corsair twin pc3200 ram
and my board has in overclocking feature in the bios all epoxs do
Nf3-nf4 i read is the best for overclocking semprons in

90% of board have overclocking features. Then again what are overclocking features? Just simple access to your FSB and voltage. Which in the old days you had to manually set.

Now will the board handle overclocking is a different story. Because they say they have overclocking features doesn't mean the board can run at higher FSBs. Hell my sister's comptuer has over clocking features but the board doesn't like to go over 10mhz higher then stock on the FSB.

And with epox boards they are cheap and not strong to OC. So don't try to push it to hard or you might fry it. ;)

nF4 SLI chips are good for overclocking. The Ultra chips are not as good and the baisic nF4 and the nF3 are not to good at overclocking much.

Also what brand of memory do you have? Cosair has 2 brands. Cosair value and Cosair XMS. And the level of overclockablility is massively different between the two.

NoPeace - out
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
im pretty sure its the value stuff but i got the best CAS one they had
i returend other sticks till i got the one i wanted
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
straigth from cpu z
Number of processors 1
Number of cores 1 per processor
Number of threads 1 (max 1) per processor
Name AMD Sempron 2800+
Code Name Palermo
Specification AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+
Package Socket 754
Family/Model/Stepping F.C.2
Extended Family/Model F.2C
Brand ID 38
Core Stepping DH-E6
Technology 90 nm
Core Speed 1607.3 MHz
Multiplier x Bus speed 8.0 x 200.9 MHz
HT Link speed 803.7 MHz
Instruction sets MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
L1 Data cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache 256 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Chipset & Memory
Northbridge NVIDIA nForce3 250 rev. A1
Southbridge NVIDIA nForce3 MCP rev. A2
Graphic Interface AGP
AGP Revision 3.0
AGP Transfer Rate 8x
AGP Side Band Addressing supported, enabled
Memory Type DDR
Memory Size 2048 MBytes
Memory Frequency 160.7 MHz (CPU/10)
CAS# Latency (tCL) 2.5 clocks
RAS# to CAS# (tRDC) 3 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 3 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) 7 clocks
Bank Cycle Time (tRC) 10 clocks
DRAM Idle Timer 16 clocks
Command Rate 2T
System
System Manufacturer
System Name
System S/N
Mainboard Vendor
Mainboard Model nForce
BIOS Vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD
BIOS Version 6.00 PG
BIOS Date 05/02/2006
Memory SPD
Module 1 DDR, PC3200 (200 MHz), 1024 MBytes, Corsair
Module 2 DDR, PC3200 (200 MHz), 1024 MBytes, Corsair
Software
Windows Version Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
DirectX Version 9.0c
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
229
Reaction score
0
If you wan more Mhz's try Memory Frequency 100 MHz (CPU/16)
at 7.8ns.

Ur metherboard MSI!?

my metherboard is Gigabyte, and my Chipset is NF3 250, same as your, but i can't handle more than 2311mhz clock on my Sempron 2600+ @1.6ghz
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
9,759
Reaction score
77
If you wan more Mhz's try Memory Frequency 100 MHz (CPU/16)
at 7.8ns.

Ur metherboard MSI!?

my metherboard is Gigabyte, and my Chipset is NF3 250, same as your, but i can't handle more than 2311mhz clock on my Sempron 2600+ @1.6ghz

That's because going over 275mhz fsb is extremely high for an old A64 setup.

And kip. You might be able to overclock to 2ghz if you up your memory timmings a little.

NoPeace - out
 
Legendary Battlemage
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
ight tanks im just gonna get a venice core 64 2.2 stock ill up it to 2.4
 
Back
Top