Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Ports

Mythic Archon
Loyal Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
719
Reaction score
10
Do i need to open a few ports so i can connect to my own server?
 
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
213
Reaction score
1
yes, you must open 1433 (MSSQL PORT), 38101,38121,38111 (SERVER PORT) and you must open another port if you make new worldserver. exp if you make worldserver_24_02 you can change it port to 38102, so you must open 38102 port.. etc.
 
Upvote 0
Master Summoner
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
527
Reaction score
53
Just open 1433 for sql and 19-90 for Web on the windows lan ip and 30000-40000 on CentOS lan ip.
 
Upvote 0
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
213
Reaction score
1
yes port 80 for web too... don't open 19-90, just 80 for necessary only... It will make hacker or spammer find your port hole.....
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
Why open 1433? That is the MSSQL port and only the server needs to connect to that, letting outside access in is just asking to be hacked so let the server (and your console) in only!
 
Upvote 0
Newbie Spellweaver
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Why open 1433? That is the MSSQL port and only the server needs to connect to that, letting outside access in is just asking to be hacked so let the server (and your console) in only!

Because not everyone runs their server off their own PC, and would like to remote manage from time to time.
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
Why open 1433? That is the MSSQL port and only the server needs to connect to that, letting outside access in is just asking to be hacked so let the server (and your console) in only!

That's what i mean ;)
 
Upvote 0
Master Summoner
Loyal Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
574
Reaction score
10
Because not everyone runs their server off their own PC, and would like to remote manage from time to time.

google might help you further, everyone who connects to a remote dedicated, uses either ssh (or something like it) or RPD (windows).
 
Upvote 0
Mythic Archon
Loyal Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
719
Reaction score
10
Thx guys

Is this so i can connect to my own server(Server is on my computer) And play on it(From my computer)?
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Loyal Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
If the server is in a vmware on your computer and you are the only person connecting then you should not need to forward any ports. If you have a firewall on your PC you may need to open the ports on the firewall, though most firewalls concentrate on incoming connections and not outgoing (you connection goes out from your PC to the server in vmware) so even that may not be needed.
 
Upvote 0
Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
213
Reaction score
1
i think if you want test your server and you doubt, then just open all port....
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top