Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

Question About Debian/Ubuntu

Initiate Mage
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Hello.

someone could make a server in ubuntu/debian???

need some help with the service i cant start it
 
The Dinosaur
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
Debian based linux distributions do work but the install process is slightly different. The biggest difference is that you have to use the "alien" command to convert the rpm file to a .deb file so you can install it.

What happens when trying to start the service?
 
Upvote 0
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
622
Reaction score
4
is it a working option if you open (extract) the rpm file via tools like salamander in windows, then just patch over in linux? i wonder if the rpm command simply extracts and not do anything else because it would save others from additional hassle.
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
The rpm creates the "cabal" user and creates some symbolic links for the services too. You can set it up manually it just adds a little extra work. The best reason for using the rpm first is that you get the dependency check when installing it, if we didn't have that we would get lots of much weirder errors reported when trying to start the services ;)
 
Upvote 0
Initiate Mage
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
well i have some erroros with "initlog" when i start the service.... in fuctions (/etc/init.d/fuctions) and debian no have runlevel like redhat is too much diferent...

any body can do it?? make one server in ubuntu?
 
Upvote 0
The Dinosaur
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
5,028
Reaction score
999
I have heard of a few people that have done it but as the cabal server is designed for redhat based linux it will be harder to make work and more linux knowledge would be needed. Personally i recommend centos 4.6 only and if you install my way only CD1 and CD2 are needed too.
 
Upvote 0
Banned
Banned
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
3,245
Reaction score
1,652
I once tried installing on Ubuntu, but it doesn't like installing the converted cabal.rpm. It IS possible, like chumpy said, but it's a lot of hassle. CentOS 4.5/4.6 works straight out of the box.
 
Upvote 0
Initiate Mage
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
well in ubuntu you can use rpm files no only with alien. alien just convert .rpm to .deb (with errors xD)

you can use rpm command like centOS
just "sudo apt-get install rpm" and you can install it

i no have problem with the instalation, problem appear when you try run the service...

and what about fedora????? any body can do it?????
CentOS is SOOOOOOOO UGLY xD i need one good server for my devolement
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top